Fighting for the Faith With Chris Rosebrough – Sermon Review: Lack vs. Overflow By Brian Houston, Hillsong


Below is a transcript taken from Chris Rosebrough’s radio show podcast Fighting For The Faith Radio podcast which was originally broadcast on Monday July 2nd 2012, which you can subscribe to on iTunes. I highly recommend you do this if you want to develop discernment. 

You can also listen to this unbiblical sermon mp3 of Brian Houston’s sermon – Lack vs. Overflow. This is available from ‘The Hillsong Church – Brian Houston’ podcast and available on Youtube – http://youtu.be/aEzUdDy9kjM

Here is the video link for this transcript > http://youtu.be/kvhBJiKk3eE

[First Segment – 00:13:34 – 00:14:13]

Chris Rosebrough, “Since it is the Hillsong Conference, it is raging out there in Australia. I feel sorry for you folks in Australia. It is the summer Olympics. Summer heresy Olympics out there in Sydney and Hillsong has got their big annual conference and you know they have got Joyce Meyer, Steven Furtick, and others including Brian Houston.

So what we are going to do for hour number two today, we are going to be reviewing a sermon by Brian Houston entitled Lack vs. Overflow and Louie Giglio is also featured speaker. I mean that guy has drifted badly to say the least.

[Second Segment – 01:14:42 – 01:50:49]

Chris Rosebrough, “Okay we are back. Hour number two of Fighting for the Faith. We are well into it. Sermon review time, we are going to go down under to Australia and listen to a recent sermon released by Brian Houston of Hillsong who is a noted Word of Faith heretic and prosperity preacher and I don’t think it is a well a coincidence that Steven Furtick hangs out with Brian Houston. Just saying you know with people like Phil Pringle and Kong Hee.

Here we go. The good, the bad, the ugly, we review it all here at Fighting for the Faith. We are equal opportunity sermon reviewing service. Today’s prosperity message comes to us via Hillsong in Sydney, Australia. Brian Houston presiding, the name of the prosperity masloration is entitled Lack vs. Overflow and I think we begin in that wonderful Psalm where the LORD is you know my shepherd. I shall not want.

Psalm 23 v 1 (ESV – English Standard Version)

1The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.

Everyone has this read at funerals and stuff like that. But did you know it was actually teaching that God wants to give you money. Apparently I had no idea. But we are going to find out how this is the case.

Psalm 23 v 1 (ESV – English Standard Version)

1The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.

And again it is significant to note that Steven Furtick is well tonight teaching at Hillsong’s Conference and I think it is perfectly clear where Steven Furtick is now. He is a Word of Faith light prosperity preacher. He is hanging out with people who are just of his ilk. Joyce Meyer, Brian Houston, you know folks like that. I mean is it any coincidence that he was with Phil Pringle and Kong Hee earlier this year? Why he was shilling for money from Genesis 22. No, see that is kind of what these guys are all about. Twisting God’s Word, scratching ears, tickling ears and well not preaching Christ, no preaching about prosperity.

You can be just like him, if you make the right decisions in the valley of decision. Then on the Mountain of Provision God will provide for you. Big time just like He did for….anyway. Let’s kill the music. Without any further or due here is Brian Houston and his sermon entitled Lack vs. Overflow. Here we go….”

Brian Houston, “You know Psalm 30 v 5 says, ‘God’s anger is for a moment. But his favour is for life.’

Psalm 30 v 5 (NKJV – New King James Version)

For His anger is but for a moment,
His favour is for life;

Weeping may endure for a night,
But joy comes in the morning.

Favour is for life, a lot of people think of God in terms of the great majority of God’s attitude to people being anger and every now and then a little glimpse, a little breakthrough of favour. But in actual fact this Psalm says exactly the opposite. It says God’s anger is for a moment. But his favour is for life.

Psalm 30 v 5 (NKJV – New King James Version)

For His anger is but for a moment,
His favour is for life;

It is the will of God for your life to be blessed by the favour of God, of that I have no doubt because our lives are not just about us. It lives are about the purpose of God, our lives are about those things that God is wanting to do in us and through us in Jesus name. So if you come into church tonight with this mindset, this concept, this kind of religious thinking that God is mad and angry with you and waiting to pounce and judge you and every now and then because you weren’t good enough and you have got a little glimpse of God’s favour….”

Chris Rosebrough, “So if you come to church with the idea that God is wrathful. That He is going to judge the living and the dead. Oh you have missed the whole point. No put all that wrath stuff away. God wants to, all He wants to do is bless your socks off and all you have got to do is be obedient and you will yeah uh hmm…..”

Brian Houston, “So if you come into church tonight with this mindset, this concept, this kind of religious thinking that God is mad and angry with you and waiting to pounce and judge you and every now and then because you weren’t good for enough and you have got a little glimpse of God’s favour.

You need to turn that upside down and realise that through Jesus Christ God’s anger is but for a moment, but His favour is for life and it is the will of God to set your life up with His favour. So you can fulfil the promise of God in your life.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Uh see God just wants to bless you with all kinds of favour, so that you can accomplish His purposes. See this is a kinder, gentler gospel than the biblical gospel of repentance and the forgiveness of sins in Jesus name….”

Brian Houston, “You need to turn that upside down and realise that through Jesus Christ God’s anger is but for a moment, but his favour is for life and it is the will of God to set your life up with His favour. So you can fulfil the promise of God in your life and in your home and in your marriage in the name of Jesus Christ.

Psalm 23 the psalmist David declares with faith that the LORD is his shepherd.

Psalm 23 v 1 (NKJV – New King James Version)

1 The Lord is my shepherd;
I shall not want.

That is a determined shall not. I shall not want he says.

Psalm 23 v 2-5 (NKJV – New King James Version)

He makes me to lie down in green pastures;
He leads me beside the still waters.
He restores my soul;
He leads me in the paths of righteousness
For His name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil;
For You are with me;
Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
You anoint my head with oil;
My cup runs over.

I love that….”

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah I am sure you do. I am sure you only think that is referring to money.

Psalm 23 v 5-6 (NKJV – New King James Version)

5 My cup runs over.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
All the days of my life;
And I will dwell in the house of the Lord
Forever.

            Psalm 23 v 1, 5, 6 (NKJV – New King James Version)

1 The Lord is my shepherd;
I shall not want.

5 My cup runs over.

All the days of my life….

Favour is for life.

Psalm 23 v 6 (NKJV – New King James Version)

And I will dwell in the house of the Lord
Forever.

And I will dwell…..”

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah seriously why should we be reading this Psalm at funerals and stuff? This is all about God wanting you to have favour and prosperity and wealth and influence and affluence and you can be at the top of the ponzi scheme just like Brian Houston is!!!

Brian Houston, “Psalm 23 v 6 (NKJV – New King James Version)

And I will dwell in the house of the Lord
Forever.

Psalm 23 v 1, 5

1 I shall not want

5 My cup overflows

[v1 is quoted the NKJV, v5 is quoted from the NIV]

I shall not want. I shall overflow. What do you believe is God’s will for your life? Want or overflow? What do you believe is the most spiritual way to live your life? With an expectation of favour and blessing and overflow, or for a contentment with lack. Because many people glorify lack and spiritualize it and make a doctrine out of it.”

Chris Rosebrough, “This is a false dichotomy and it is based upon a misreading of Psalm 23 and by the way, the way you know he is twisting Psalm 23 is that when you read Psalm 23, it doesn’t actually say anything or set up the dichotomy between lack or provision or abundance or anything like that. Let me read it to you again.

Psalm 23 v 1-4 (ESV – English Standard Version)

1 The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.
2 He makes me lie down in green pastures.
He leads me beside still waters.
He restores my soul.
He leads me in paths of righteousness
for his name’s sake.

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,

Now that doesn’t sound like you know an amazing situation. Quite the contrary…..

Psalm 23 v 4 (ESV – English Standard Version)

I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
your rod and your staff,

Those are disciplining tools of the shepherd.

Psalm 23 v 4-6 (ESV – English Standard Version) 

They comfort me.

You prepare a table before me
in the presence of my enemies;
you anoint my head with oil;
my cup overflows.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
all the days of my life,
and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord
forever.”

Goodness and mercy are not the same things as well money, and provision, and things like that that. Another clear rule here when you are looking at the scriptures is you always look at clear passages that address the topic and they govern rather than unclear. So here is the idea we are going to, we are going to basically say he is not rightly even setting up the biblical categories. Let me give you passage that talks directly to the issue that Brian Houston is apparently trying to bring up.

Philippians 4 v 10-13 (ESV – English Standard Version)

10 I rejoiced in the Lord greatly that now at length you have revived your concern for me. You were indeed concerned for me, but you had no opportunity. 11 Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. 12 I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. 13 I can do all things through him who strengthens me.

Ah okay so you have learned in whatever situation to be content. So The Bible here doesn’t setup a dichotomy and basically says God is only in this life, only going to give you plenty and lots of and lots of monetary stuff. It doesn’t say that. Because if that were the case we would see that in the lives of the apostles, instead the apostle Paul makes it clear that he has learned that in whatever situation that he is content.

Philippians 4 v 12-13 (ESV – English Standard Version)

12 I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. 13 I can do all things through him who strengthens me.

He never….nowhere does the apostle say that ‘Listen it is completely contrary to God’s Word and what He wants for you. For you to have a situation in your life where you are in need, where you have a lack, Paul says that he has learned to be content even when he is facing hunger and need.’ See so who are going to trust? The apostle Paul and scripture or Brian Houston who is clearly at this point twisting God’s Word and making it say something that it doesn’t say. We continue….”

Brian Houston, “What do you believe is God’s will for your life? Want or overflow? What do you believe is the most spiritual way to live your life? With an expectation of favour and blessing and overflow, or for a contentment with lack. Because many people glorify lack and spiritualize it and make a doctrine out of it. But to me the great theme of God’s Word is that God wants to bless you with His grace and His favour and with overflow and I believe you should have the raw courage that David had even as he walks through the valley near the shadow of death. Which is one that says…..

Psalm 23 v 1

1 I shall not want….

He sounds pretty determined about that….”

Chris Rosebrough, “Hmm…..that is not what he is talking about. He is not talking about money…..”

Brian Houston, “Psalm 23 v 1, ‘I shall not want.’ There maybe a G.F.C. There maybe things working against me. These maybe dark dull dim days, maybe every reason why I shouldn’t want, but I shall not want. He says….

Psalm 23 v 5

5 My cup runs over

Do you know to want it literally means to diminish, to decrease, to deplete or literally it means to be in lack. To overflow means to replenish….”

Chris Rosebrough, “Oh it sounds like such a biblical sermon since he has taken the time to define lack and overflow…..”

Brian Houston, “To overflow means to replenish, to saturate, to drench that is the spirit of overflow. Literally to enrich, to make abundant…..”

Chris Rosebrough, “Philippians 4 v 11-13 (ESV – English Standard Version)

11 For I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. 12 I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. 13 I can do all things through him who strengthens me.

See Christ will strengthen you even

when you are in a time of need and hunger. Uh hmm….”

Brian Houston, “I just got it in my heart that this year people should believe for a spirit of overflow in your life and overflow goes beyond just even being filled up. Overflow is to saturate, to drench. It is a powerful thought. It is to live in abundance and the tragedy to me is that you can glorify lack as much as you like and so many people are bound by a lack of ideas, a lack of vision, a lack of creativity, a lack of real belief and what God can do.

Perhaps a lack of wisdom, a lack of understanding, lack of judgement – you can live your life feeling like you have a lack of opportunity. You can live your life in lack with money. You can live in lack with resource. But don’t ever think that there is something God glorifying about lack. Because all it is ever doing is inhibiting you from what God has actually called you to do. Your hands are bound because of lack.

Chris Rosebrough, “Wow so people want to inhibit you huh?”

Brian Houston, “It means to diminish a positive. So in other words every young person can have a great education and you see that as a positive, a lack of education is the diminishing of that positive or the diminishing of an opportunity. Proverbs 13 v 23 one of the scriptures that I have talked about many times over the years, because it says

Proverbs 13 v 23

23 There is much food in the fellow ground of the poor.

Literally the uncultivated ground of the poor,

Proverbs 13 v 23 (NKJV – New King James Version)

23 But through lack of justice there waste.

Through lack of opportunity of lack of injustice and you can visit….”

Chris Rosebrough, “Justice and opportunity are two different things. Listen to this….

            Proverbs 13 v 23 (ESV – English Standard Version)

23 The fallow ground of the poor would yield much food,
but it is swept away through injustice.

This is talking about well theft, bad government. Things like that. Evil rulers, injustice. It is not saying lack of opportunity. Oh man….”

Brian Houston, “Through lack of opportunity of lack of injustice and you can visit countries around the world. We just did in South America and you can in Africa and other places where the soil is so fertile and there is so much food or so much potential that stays in the uncultivated ground of the poor. Because of lack of opportunity and that is the thing about lack. It is a depleting or a diminishing of an opportunity….”

Chris Rosebrough, “Now what an earth does real poor people in real third world nations have to do with this sermon?”

Brian Houston, “And so many people have get this contentment about lack and almost this pseudo spirituality about lack….”

Chris Rosebrough, “Hmm….the apostle Paul said he was content even in hunger and need. Because he could do all things through Christ who strengthens him, including get through that. So you are taking a swipe at the apostle Paul? You know better than him?”

Brian Houston, “And so many people have get this contentment about lack and almost this pseudo spirituality about lack as though that is the way to serve God and sadly many people because they don’t have that…..

Psalm 23 v 1, 5

I shall not want

I shall overflow

My cup runs over.

Mindset – they settle for less than God’s intention and by settling for something less than God’s intention then they live inhibited….”

Chris Rosebrough, “So apparently there it is I mean you basically take Psalm 23 and turn it into a Word of Faith mantra that you just keep blurting out and then God has to bless you because you believe that you God wants to give you abundance.”

Brian Houston, “And so many people have get this contentment about lack and almost this pseudo spirituality about lack as though that is the way to serve God and sadly many people because they don’t have that…..

Psalm 23 v 1, 5

I shall not want

I shall overflow

My cup runs over.

Mindset – they settle for less than God’s intention and by settling for something less than God’s intention then they live inhibited. The opportunity for potential. The capacity to do something beyond yourself. To actually make a difference. We can have all the compassion that we want. We can have all of the vision that we like. We can have all of the you know dreams that you can muster. But if it is just held back by lack and you have a faith or a belief that somehow believes that lack is God’s will for you, then all you are going to do is sit there stifled and frustrated about a God given vision.

So why don’t we believe Hillsong church 2012 for a spirit of overflow.

Psalm 23 v 1, 5

1 I shall not want

5My cup overflows

Chris Rosebrough, “Wow you know I…a particular passage of scripture comes to mind and that is actually well 2 Timothy, I would say 2 Timothy 3.

2 Timothy 3 v 1-2 (ESV – English Standard Version)

1 But understand this, that in the last days there will come times of difficulty. For people will be lovers of self,

Steven Furtick…..

            2 Timothy 3 v 2 (ESV – English Standard Version)

2 Lovers of money,

Steven Furtick, Perry Noble, Brian Houston and all the others Word of Faith folks.

            2 Timothy 3 v 2-5 (ESV – English Standard Version)

2 Proud, arrogant, abusive, disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy, heartless, unappeasable, slanderous, without self-control, brutal, not loving good,treacherous, reckless, swollen with conceit, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God, having the appearance of godliness, but denying its power. Avoid such people.

Yeah I think the apostle Paul was prophesying about men like Steven Furtick and Brian Houston and other Word of Faith heretics. We continue….”

Brian Houston, “Psalm 23 v 5, ‘My cup overflows. My cup runs over.’ I am believing to hear running over type testimonies all this year through of people whose cup is overflowing. One time we looked in that cup and it was like mother hubbard’s cupboard. It may have been bear. But let’s believe that your cup is going to overflow in Jesus name and you are going to be telling such stories of the blessing of God. Because we are not going to make it about ourselves, we are going to make it about what God has called us to do in Jesus name….”

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah actually that is just double talk. This is nothing but about yourself….”

Brian Houston, “….Let’s believe that your cup is going to overflow in Jesus name and you are going to be telling such stories of the blessing of God. Because we are not going to make it about ourselves, we are going to make it about what God has called us to do in Jesus name….”

Chris Rosebrough, “Oh and your bank account….”

Brian Houston, “So never ever accept the spiritualizing or you know of lack. When it is simply holding lack people’s opportunity to do what God has called them to do in Jesus name. You know….”

Chris Rosebrough, Yeah apparently this makes it Christian. Because all he has to do is tell you something false, scratch your itching ears. Tell you, ‘Oh God wants you to have all kinds of money.’ And then it becomes Christian because he goes, ‘In Jesus name.’ Say wow that is amazing….”

Brian Houston, “You know overflow is such a theme in God’s Word. Such a theme in God’s Word has said in 2 Corinthians 9 v 8, it says….

2 Corinthians 9 v 8 (NKJV – New King James Version)

And God is able to make all grace abound toward you, that you, always having all sufficiency in all things, may have an abundance for every good work.

Chris Rosebrough, “Woah got to be careful here that is a subtle twist. Yeah let me show it to you from a good translation so that you can kind of see what is going on here. Just that an abundance for every good work. That is not exactly what the text says, a subtle twist but watch what it says….

2 Corinthians 9 v 8 (ESV – English Standard Version)

And God is able to make all grace abound to you, so that having all sufficiency in all things at all times,

Notice sufficiency not abundance…..

2 Corinthians 9 v 8 (ESV – English Standard Version)

8 Having all sufficiency in all things at all times, you may abound in every good work.

That you may abound in every good work and that is basically what the Greek says itself too. “Dynatei de ho theos pasan charin perisseusai eis hymas hina en panti pantote pasan autarkeian echontes perisseuēte eis pan ergon agathon

δυνατεῖ δὲ ὁ θεὸς πᾶσαν χάριν περισσεῦσαι εἰς ὑμᾶς ἵνα ἐν παντὶ πάντοτε πᾶσαν αὐτάρκειαν ἔχοντες περισσεύητε εἰς πᾶν ἔργον ἀγαθόν

So the Greek does definitely say this.

2 Corinthians 9 v 8 (ESV – English Standard Version)

8 So that you may abound into every good work.

It doesn’t say abundance for, it says abound in every good work. This is there is a big difference here and that eis pan ergon agathon is way different than what he is saying here. It is a subtle twist and you would miss it if you….I mean that one is so quick that you….if you blink you would miss it. But I think what he is basically trying to say here is oh the reason why God wants to give you an abundance is so that you can you know so that He can provide you with a provision for all the good works and purpose that He has for you.

That is not what the text says. It is that you have sufficiency for…so that you can abound in good works. It is not an abundance for good works. Wow that was a subtle twist…”

2 Corinthians 9 v 8

And God is able to make all grace, all favour abound toward you, that you, always having all sufficiency in all things, may have an abundance for every good work.

And that is the whole thing about abundance. That is a for or there is a because, there is a reason to it….”

Chris Rosebrough, “No that is not what the Greek text says. It is abound into, not abundance for, but abound in good works. Seriously the conjunction is the thing that makes it or breaks it here.”

Brian Houston, “That is because there is a good work that God has called you to do. 2 Corinthians 9 v 8 talks about what God is able to do. But in fact the scripture is filled with what God is able to do. We sing God is able. Ephesians 3 v 20 it says….

Ephesians 3 v 20 (ESV – English Standard Version)

20 Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think….”

Chris Rosebrough, “Notice every passage ripped out of context. Just strung together like pearls to weave together this theology. This is not based upon any text in context and even what he did with Psalm 23 is an abuse of the text. Eisegeting into it basically monetary provision….”

Brian Houston, “Ephesians 3 v 20 (ESV – English Standard Version)

20 Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think….

And they are all Bible words when it talks about exceeding, going beyond. It is a Bible word. 2 Peter 1 v 4 talks about his exceeding great promises.

2 Peter 1 v 4 (NKJV – New King James Version)

By which have been given to us exceedingly great and precious promises….

Exceeding do you have that kind of heart towards God. That he doesn’t just want to live up to your faith, live up to your dream. He wants to take you exceedingly, abundantly above what you could ever ask or think….”

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah again that is talking about stuff in the eschaton. Oh man this is just one litany of prosperity heresy wow…..”

Brian Houston, “Man you know let’s not even have that hope that one day God will answer our prayers. Let’s cancel all that stuff and start living with an expectation of a God who is able to do exceedingly, His great exceeding precious promises….”

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah live with an expectation. Man there is no humble, no fear of God, you know no petitions. It is oh I expect God to deliver on this….”

Brian Houston, “Man you know let’s not even have that hope that one day God will answer our prayers. Let’s cancel all that stuff and start living with an expectation of a God who is able to do exceedingly, His great exceeding and precious promises the Word talks about. Have we got that scripture that talks about the promise of God? Listen to it is 2 Peter 1 v 4…..

2 Peter 1 v 4 (NKJV – New King James Version)

By which have been given to us exceedingly great and precious promises….

Do you know I just feel it in my heart to lift people’s spirits….”

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah you are going to read part of a sentence. By the way v4 begins with the word by which, which tells you there is a bigger context going on. Don’t you think you might want to take a look at the bigger context? Yeah I always you need to when somebody is taking verses out of context, pause put them back in context. Even if it is me, especially if it is me…..

2 Peter 1 v 1 (ESV – English Standard Version)

1 Simeon Peter, a servant and apostle of Jesus Christ,

To those who have obtained a faith of equal standing with ours by the righteousness of our God and Saviour Jesus Christ:

2 Peter 1 v 2 (ESV – English Standard Version)

May grace and peace be multiplied to you in the knowledge of God and of Jesus our Lord.

Confirm Your Calling and Election

His divine power has granted to us all things that pertain to life and godliness, through the knowledge of him who called us to his own glory and excellence, by which he has granted to us his precious and very great promises, so that through them you may become partakers of the divine nature, having escaped from the corruption that is in the world because of sinful desire.

For this very reason, make every effort to supplement your faith with virtue, and virtue with knowledge, and knowledge with self-control, and self-control with steadfastness, and steadfastness with godliness,and godliness with brotherly affection, and brotherly affection with love.

 For if these qualities are yours and are increasing, they keep you from being ineffective or unfruitful in the knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.

Well the great promises have nothing to do with wealth or abundance there….

Brian Houston, “Do you know I just feel it in my heart to lift people’s spirits and to lift people’s faith and lift your expectation of God. Because I want to encourage you to be thinking of God in terms of exceedingly great and precious promises. You know we are standing on the promises of God our king.

To the middle ages let the doo doo ring. Standing on the promises of God, standing standing on the promises. I am standing the promises of God. Wow if we start thinking by the way. I reckon someone ought to start singing in a new song about the promise of God.

Because the promise of God is something yes you can stand on it. Because it is exceeding, it is great and it is precious and that is the Spirit of overflow. That is the Spirit of God toward our lives in Jesus name. Exceeding, abundant, it is life abundant that the Word talks about. Above you are above and not beneath. You are the head and not the tail. Friends this might just sound like good old pump you up faith type preaching and I hope it is because my spirit….

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah no this is flat out heresy….”

Brian Houston, “Friends this might just sound like good old pump you up faith type preaching and I hope it is because my spirit is all about wanting to pump people in Jesus name and get you believing in the exceeding promises of God….”

Chris Rosebrough, “False Jesus – false gospel, twisting of God’s Word. None of this is true. This is not the gospel.”

Brian Houston, “You know it is so easy to have an ordinary faith where we just hang back and we go to church and we know God does good stuff and we get blessed by other people testimony. But it is time to step up and start believing God for his….oh here is someone I know. That we can start believing God chi chong for his….come on stand up Jay….stand up….alright now I am your pastor. I am a man of God. Hit me….”

Chris Rosebrough, “No he is not a man of God….”

Brian Houston, “Oh come on. I didn’t hurt him. I know I didn’t hurt him. He is made. He is like a rock unbelievable. If I hurt anything it is my wrist that is all. It is a constant theme of the scripture. That whole idea of God’s abundance, God’s overflow and the reason that people you know get nervous about it is because they think through eyes of selfishness and they presume immediately we are talking greed.

They presume when thinking about self, and ourselves and laying up treasures on earth. Forgetting what we are all about. Laying up treasures in heaven and seeing the will of God on earth fulfilled, all about the eternal purpose of God in heaven in Jesus name. So don’t be afraid to believe God….”

Chris Rosebrough, “Notice this is all double talk. So if you are challenging him and what he is saying, it is because well you are just greedy and yet he is the one who is flat out greedy….”

Brian Houston, “So don’t be afraid to believe God. Have a raw faith. That you will have the wisdom that will find life and obtain favour, because he who finds wisdom obtains the favour of the LORD in Jesus name. Praise God you the know the spirit of overflow and abundance it really is just a great example of God’s supernatural ability…..”

Chris Rosebrough, “A spirit of abundance. Yeah it doesn’t matter how many times you say it. It is still not a biblical teaching the way you are teaching it.

Brian Houston, “Praise God you the know the spirit of overflow and abundance it really is just a great example of God’s supernatural ability. Well God is able to do. Yeah never underestimate what God is able to do.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah I understand God is omnipotent. So yeah He is able to do a lot of things. He spoke the entire universe into existence in six days. God is capable of some pretty amazing things. No problem with that whatsoever.

Just because He is able to do something, doesn’t mean that it is His will to do so. You seem to think that God is going to be impressed by your ability to believe He is capable of big things. You are supposed to be preaching repentance and the forgiveness of sins in Jesus name because that is the big promise we are all to be hanging onto and proclaiming.”

Brian Houston, “Sometimes you can look back on life at a miracle and you think, ‘Wow where did that come from?’ Because it is just exceeding and abundant and above what you could you ever have asked or thought. I have never been to Israel. Bobbie had never been to Israel and a few years ago some of you would know that one time we got this formal invitation from the government of Israel to come to Israel and not only a formal invitation, but air fares and good air fares by the way.

Oh no all our airlines and we got there and we didn’t even have to go through the security. We are talking Israel. We are taking through the special diplomatic type queue and we are put in a nice car and taken through and put in a City of David hotel room right in the middle of the city, where we looked down over the Mount of Olives which is so significant for believers and it is like, ‘what are we doing here?’

And then we spent of time with a few other believers that were brought in and key people from around the world. But what I found out after a while was that every other person that was there had been to Israel sixty or seventy times and it brought all of these people into Israel and had some kind of an engagement and connection with Israel. But Bobbie and I had never been to Israel in our lives. As a matter of fact I have never been since either and the next day we find ourselves going through security into Knesset, into the parliament. The Israel parliament….”

Chris Rosebrough, “I have know idea what this has to do with The Bible!

Brian Houston, “….Bobbie and I had never been to Israel in our lives. As a matter of fact I have never been since either and the next day we find ourselves going through security into Knesset, into the parliament. The Israel parliament, into the cabinet room where we sat with Ariel Sharon who was then prime minister president of Israel with Ehud who was the next guy.

The next president right beside him and we talked about all sorts of things and Sharon talked to Bobbie and I about Australia and about how Australia had stood by Israel and about the light horsemen and about some of Australia’s war history and it is like, ‘What are we doing here?’ And the next day we went out to the sea of Galilee….”

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah what are you preaching this for?”

Brian Houston, “….Bobbie and I had never been to Israel in our lives. As a matter of fact I have never been since either and the next day we find ourselves going through security into Knesset, into the parliament. The Israel parliament, into the cabinet room where we sat with Ariel Sharon who was then prime minister president of Israel with Ehud who was the next guy.

The next president right beside him and we talked about all sorts of things and Sharon talked to Bobbie and I about Australia and about how Australia had stood by Israel and about the light horsemen and about some of Australia’s war history and it is like, ‘What are we doing here?’

And the next day we went out to the sea of Galilee where we met who was now the current prime minister Benjamin Netanyahu and we were sitting and conversing with him and having a cup of coffee and he takes us and shows us a dock and we are out there and we are on a pier in the sea of Galilee on a little row boat full of American tourists with yellow caps on going by singing shout to the LORD all the earth let us sing.

True story and it is like what are we doing here? And it went on like that for two days or so and after two days we went back into the airport and we are taken through – avoided security again. Helped onto the airplane, got on the airplane and to this day I don’t even quite know what it was about. But…..”

Chris Rosebrough, “Then why are you preaching about it?”

Brian Houston, “But our God is able to do exceedingly abundant and above everything you could ever ask or think. Because that is the God we love and serve in Jesus name….”

Chris Rosebrough, “Oh right so there is thank God it was short. But for as short as it was tightly packed with really bad narcissistic money grubbing completely wrong theology – the prosperity heresy and who is Steven Furtick hanging out with today? Oh yeah that is right Brian Houston. He is teaching at Hillsong.

Yeah it is pretty clear that Steven Furtick has cast his lot with these guys and they aren’t teaching the truth. Even when the biblical text is about Jesus they don’t preach Jesus. Strange huh and yet they tell everybody it is all about them wanting people to meet Jesus. How can they meet Him if you don’t preach Him. It is a fair question to ask.

Alright we are at the end of another edition of Fighting for the Faith. If you would like to hear me regarding anything you have heard on this edition or any previous editions of Fighting for the Faith. You can do so my email address is talkback@fightingforthefaith.com or you can ask to be my friend on Facebook. It is facebook.com/piratechristian or you can follow me on Twitter. My name there is @piratechristian. Until tomorrow may God richly bless you in the grace and mercy won by Jesus Christ and His vicarious death on the cross for all of your sins amen.

Leave a Reply

