Fighting for the Faith With Chris Rosebrough – Brian Houston Twists Psalm 23


Below is a transcript taken from Chris Rosebrough’s radio show podcast Fighting For The Faith Radio podcast which was originally broadcast on Monday September 9th 2013, which you can subscribe to on iTunes. I highly recommend you do this if you want to develop discernment. 

You can also listen to this unbiblical sermon mp3 of Brian Houston’s sermon – How Lack in any Area of Life Can Diminish or Limit Your Potential. This is available from ‘The Hillsong Church – Brian Houston’ podcast.

Here is the video link for this transcript > http://youtu.be/X5APHsZ2wBM

[First segment – 00:04:45 – 00:05:28]

Chris Rosebrough, “Today we have also got a Brian Houston update and since Brian Houston falls under kind of the general money grubbing televangelist types we will be playing money music regarding him, when we get to him. But have you ever heard anybody twist Psalm 23? This is kind of a first for me. I was going back through the archives today to see if I have covered anyone really doing a shakedown of Psalm 23. But we will take a look at Brian Houston’s twisting of that particular passage today. It is not very good….”

[Second segment – 00:46:59 – 00:58:59]

Chris Rosebrough, “Alright I am going to kind of shake things up here. We will do our money grubbing televangelist update that would be Brian Houston down there in Hillsong. In order to do that we have got to do this though…..

Dr. Teeth – Money Song

Don’t want no loving
Don’t want no kissing
Don’t want no gal to call me honey

Don’t want my name in the hall of fame
Just want a big fat pile of money

Give me that all mighty dollar for that lettuce every hollar
Give me bucket full of duckets
Let me walk around and waller
In Mazuma el donaro, wanna be a millionairo
Give me money money money money money money

I want that green amunition that’s the stuff for which I’m wishing
Fill my closets with deposits
I am a demon at addition
Give me shackels, give me pesos, let me see their smiling faceos
Money money money money money money

I wanna get me a suit
That’s made out of loot
and whistle to wear it in green

I have got that monetary eye that is being like King Midas
want that golden touch is what I need

Give me that old double eagle
Want that tender that is legal
and financially substantially any sum I can envegel
I want to live in regal splendour
With that loving legal tender
Money money money money money money

I am a greenback collector
I am a paper bill inspector
I am a savage for that cabage
Man to me it’s golden necter

Pour that filthy looter on me
Spread those lovin’ germs upon me
Money money money money money money

And if they ever plant trees of E Plurbus Unum
I wanna be the guy sent out to prune ’em
Oh give me money!

Chris Rosebrough, “There we go Dr. Teeth and Money, Money, Money. Now I went through the archives today of Fighting of the Faith and I could not find, not that it has never occurred. I just I don’t think I have ever covered somebody actually twisting Psalm 23. You all familiar with Psalm 23?

Psalm 23 v 1-6 (ESV – English Standard Version)

1The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.
He makes me lie down in green pastures.
He leads me beside still waters.
He restores my soul.
He leads me in paths of righteousness

for his name’s sake.

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
your rod and your staff,
they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me
in the presence of my enemies;
you anoint my head with oil;
my cup overflows.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
all the days of my life,
and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord
forever.

We have all heard this Psalm before. But I bet you have never anybody twisting it well the way you are about to hear Brian Houston of Hillsong down there in Australia twisting it. Here is Brian Houston explaining to us how lack in any area of life can diminish or limit our potential. Uh hmm here we go…..

Brian Houston, “I believe want makes potential smaller. Want lack it makes God’s purposes in your life smaller and David he makes a commitment there. The commitment is, ‘I shall not want….’

Chris Rosebrough, “No in Psalm 23 – David is not making a commitment saying, ‘I shall not want…”

Brian Houston, “God is my shepherd with the LORD leading me. I shall not want.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah see that means God is going to make you healthy, wealthy and wise right? No…..

Psalm 23 v 1-6 (ESV – English Standard Version)

1The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.
He makes me lie down in green pastures.

I don’t know if you all have ever seen shepherds shepherding sheep. But the one thing I have noticed about sheep is that they don’t usually wear diamond rings or drive Mercedes Benz and things like that. So when David saw you know writes the Psalm….

Psalm 23 v 1-6 (ESV – English Standard Version)

1The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.

He is not talking about making sure, ‘Yeah I am making a commitment here. I am not going to be in lack. I am going to have all kinds of bling and things. That is not what he is saying…..”

Brian Houston, “He says….

Psalm 23 v 5

You prepare a table before me
in the presence of my enemies.
You anoint my head with oil;
my cup runs over.

Two contrasting concepts, one is want or lack. The other is overflow.

Psalm 23 v 5

5My cup runs over.

And what is David’s commitment his commitment…..

Chris Rosebrough, “No David is not making a commitment in Psalm 23….”

Brian Houston, “And what is David’s commitment? His commitment is….

Psalm 23 v 1 & 5 (NKJV – New International Version)

1 I shall not want.

5 My cup runs over.

Chris Rosebrough, “Yes this is how a money grubbing televangelist would well predictably twist this passage. To somehow make this is about David making a commitment to not have lack in his life and you need to make that commitment as well. We will talk about this in just a second. But I want him to spin this out just a little bit more….”

Brian Houston, “I shall not lack. My cup overflows. My cup overflows. I shall not want. My cup overflows, which do you think is the will of God for people’s lives? Lack or overflow…..”

Chris Rosebrough, “Which is the will of God for people’s lives? Lack or overflow? Uh hmm Luke 16 you know isn’t it weird that he just throws out this question without actually you know grounding this properly in a right understanding of biblical texts. Because Psalm 23 is not David saying, ‘I am making a commitment to not have lack and I am going to have overflow.’ What it is talking about there, God is our shepherd. The LORD is our shepherd. He is going to care for us and give us everything that we need and it also says that,

Psalm 23 v 5 (NKJV – New King James Version)

5 ‘Yea though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death

I will fear no evil

Okay that is see Psalm 23 is not a promise of prosperity. It is not a promise of you overcoming lack. That is not what this text is about. Luke 16 v 19, I wonder how somebody like Brian Houston out there in Hillsong. Again he is a money grubbing televangelist type down there in Australia, what he would do with Luke 16 starting at v19. Now pay close attention. See who has, who is suffering from lack and who is experiencing abundance, his cup is overflowing if you would…..

Luke 16 v 19 (ESV – English Standard Version)

19 “There was a rich man who was clothed in purple and fine linen and who feasted sumptuously every day.

Didn’t have any lack did he?

             Luke 16 v 20-30 (ESV – English Standard Version)

20 And at his gate was laid a poor man named Lazarus, covered with sores, 21 who desired to be fed with what fell from the rich man’s table. Moreover, even the dogs came and licked his sores.

Well alright so we have got a story of abundance and we have got a story of lack here. You know Lazarus is lacking. He is lacking food, he is lacking health, he is lacking all kinds of things. Okay and then in v22 it says he died and….

Luke 16 v 22-31 (ESV – English Standard Version)

22 The poor man died and was carried by the angels to Abraham’s side. The rich man also died and was buried, 23 and in Hades, being in torment, he lifted up his eyes and saw Abraham far off and Lazarus at his side.

Uh oh wait a second here. That poor man if it is really God’s will for Him to have abundance in this life. As if somehow that is what God, it is all about you being prosperous and not having lack you know.

Psalm 23 v 1 (ESV – English Standard Version)

The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.

I am making a commitment to not have any want. You know Lazarus here he had nothing but want while he was on earth. But you know what he had that the rich man didn’t have? Faith he trusted in Yahweh for the forgiveness of his sins and for his salvation. Because he trusted Yahweh, he was wealthy even though by earthly appearances he was a complete and abject failure who suffered from lack. Right so here we go. So here we go…..

Luke 16 v 22-31 (ESV – English Standard Version)

22 The poor man died and was carried by the angels to Abraham’s side.

And the rich man he is in torment and he sees Lazarus with Abraham.

Luke 16 v 22-24 (ESV – English Standard Version)

22 The rich man also died and was buried, 23 and in Hades, being in torment, he lifted up his eyes and saw Abraham far off and Lazarus at his side.24 And he called out, ‘Father Abraham, have mercy on me, and send Lazarus to dip the end of his finger in water and cool my tongue, for I am in anguish in this flame.’

It gives you a picture of what hell is like.

Luke 16 v 25 (ESV – English Standard Version)

25 But Abraham said, ‘Child, remember that you in your lifetime received your good things,….

Your cup ranneth over right?

Luke 16 v 25-31 (ESV – English Standard Version)

25And Lazarus in like manner bad things; but now he is comforted here, and you are in anguish. 26 And besides all this, between us and you a great chasm has been fixed, in order that those who would pass from here to you may not be able, and none may cross from there to us.’27 And he said, ‘Then I beg you, father, to send him to my father’s house— 28 for I have five brothers—so that he may warn them, lest they also come into this place of torment.’ 29 But Abraham said, ‘They have Moses and the Prophets; let them hear them.’ 30 And he said, ‘No, father Abraham, but if someone goes to them from the dead, they will repent.’ 31 He said to him, ‘If they do not hear Moses and the Prophets, neither will they be convinced if someone should rise from the dead.’”

So don’t think for a second that the scriptures teach, ‘Oh God it is His will all the time for you to have nothing but prosperity and no lack in your life.’ You might be suffering immensely here in this life time. But don’t think for a second God has abandoned you, He hasn’t. The LORD is your shepherd. You shall not want.

He will care for you. He has promised to care for you to meet your needs and in the next life the abundance, the heavenly banquet feast is all yours. Repent and trust in Him for the forgiveness of your sins and don’t twist the scriptures to make them say these types of things that they do not say. Let’s listen a little bit more to Brian Houston….

Brian Houston, “What which do you have expectation for in your life? The lack or overflow. You see lack has such a hold of people’s lives and don’t have a one concept…..”

Chris Rosebrough, “I thought sin had a hold of people’s lives not lack….”

Brian Houston, “Don’t have a one dimensional concept of lack. Lack could be a lack of resources or a lack of finances. But it might be a lack of wisdom. It could be a lack of judgement. It could be a lack of confidence. It could be a lack of self-esteem….”

Chris Rosebrough, “It could be lack of understanding right biblical hermeneutics….”

Brian Houston, “It could be a lack of self-esteem….”

Chris Rosebrough, “Do you lack self-esteem, oh man you don’t want to have that. It is God’s will for you to have abundant self-esteem. It is nonsense….”

Brian Houston, “For some people lack is a lack of ideas, a lack of creativity. Lack it could be a perceived lack of talent….”

Chris Rosebrough, “A lack of ideas and creativity. Oh no what is happening to the world?”

Brian Houston, “Lack it could be a perceived lack of talent. Lack comes in many ways. But what it does is it diminishes, it decreases and I don’t believe for one second…..”

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah notice it is lack doing this not sin. This is a false gospel through and through….”

Brian Houston, “I don’t believe for one second it is the will of God for your life, for you to live your life in lack. I pray we have the same spirit that David has that recognizes God’s leadership, God’s shepherding in our lives and out from that we have that firm commitment, ‘I shall not want. I shall overflow. I shall not want. I shall overflow.’”

Chris Rosebrough, “Oh man so there you go. You got the idea. I mean talk about he is heading off on the wrong foot. Psalm 23 is not a great prosperity gospel passage. If the only way you can come to that conclusion is by twisting it, only focusing on certain portions of it and then engaging in that kind of hermeneutical nonsense. Moving along….”

Leave a Reply

