Fighting for the Faith With Chris Rosebrough – Rick Warren Recommends you Follow the top Heretics in the World


Below is a transcript taken from Chris Rosebrough’s radio show podcast Fighting For The Faith Radio podcast which was originally broadcast on Friday May 31st 2013, which you can subscribe to iTunes. I highly recommend you do this if you want to develop discernment.  

[Segment – 00:02:40 – 00:37:47]

Here is the video link for this transcript > http://youtu.be/ylHG7orkXto

Chris Rosebrough, “Now I want you to think back with me for a little bit here. I want to do a little bit of kind of a I want to ruminate, is that the right word? I want to kind of wonder through a little bit of recent history with you all and see if I can jog your memory. Because certain things are happening again in the church that I have seen this pattern before. Think back if you would to the early part of 2000s you know maybe 2002 / 2003 / 2004 kind of you know. You get what I am saying.

And back then you know most of us had never really heard much about Rick Warren. We knew that he was the pastor of Saddleback. We know that maybe our pastors read the book called The Purpose Driven Church and you know things like that. But most of us weren’t all that exposed to Rick Warren.

Didn’t really know that much about him and then he writes the book The Purpose Driven Life and it explodes onto the scene like Gangbusters and of course you read the book and you know somebody like me who is trained in theology, Christian Apologetics, as well as Counter Cult ministries. Immediately my radar is going off and I am you know I am getting red flags all over the places as I am reading the book. Why is he mishandling God’s Word in this way?

This is horrible. This is not right and then you know shortly after that you know kind of walking through a little bit of my history and my first initial exposure to Rick Warren. Back in the day I used to teach at Capo Valley Church in San Juan Capistrano, California and the head pastor’s there decided that as a church we were going to do a forty days campaign, not the forty days of purpose.

But we decided to do the forty days of community and because I was teaching there and I was a director of Adult Education at the church at the time. I you know was tapped on the shoulder and asked if I would lead a small group Bible Study on top of the class that I already taught on Sunday’s there and I said, ‘Sure no problem,’ and you know I basically asked that the question, ‘Well what do I need to do to prepare in order to teach this small group study?’

They said, ‘You don’t need to prepare anything Chris. Here is the book that it has the questions that you can ask you know for the study and here is the DVD for week one. Just pop it into the DVD player and hit play and then pause it at the appropriate points and ask the appropriate study questions. I am thinking, ‘Okay no problem. I mean pretty simple stuff.’

Apparently you know this is a pre made dinner, it is kind of like TV dinner version of a Bible Study, all you have got to do is stick it in a microwave and hit you know, hit the on button. Let it cook itself and then it is ready to serve. I thought that was great. So got to the Bible Study popped in the DVD, hit play and you know well I was like a minute and a half two minutes into the opening statements made by Rick Warren and the forty days of community and I had to hit the pause button and say, ‘I am really sorry folks what Rick Warren just said there is not what The Bible says. If you would open up your Bible’s to such and such a passage, let’s take a look at what God’s Word says.

I am sure Rick he you know wasn’t purposely intending to twist God’s Word, but I think it is important that I clean things up here. Because I am not going to allow people under my teaching to be taught false doctrine, you know even if it comes pre packaged by Rick Warren and I hit play again and you know you get another minute or so into it and next thing you know I had to hit the pause.

This kind of the early version of a Fighting for the Faith sermon review and I said, ‘Oh I am, again I don’t mean to sound persnickety, but what Rick Warren said there doesn’t jibe with God’s Word.’ And so there was my kind of first exposures to Rick Warren and I knew where there is smoke, there is fire and I knew there was trouble. But then here is the problem.

You know to the general to the American evangelical church goer you know they will say, ‘Well listen Rick Warren is one of the most prominent leaders within Southern Baptist Convention. He is one of the most, I mean he is an author of a New York Times bestselling book.

I mean there hasn’t been a work of nonfiction that has sold as well as The Purpose Driven Life in the history of publishing right. And so you know what he says can’t be wrong and look at you know he is having such a positive impact on you know what is going on in the church. How can you say what he is teaching is false? It is real simple, I have my Bible open and I know how to read it in context and I teach other people to do the same and what he is saying isn’t squaring with scripture and then you have got all the weird things that were happening after that.

You know kind of take you back in time. Do you remember the story where it came out? Purpose Driven Mormons question mark? You know Rick Warren had to defend himself against the fact that he you know was attending The Purpose Driven Conferences that he was holding at Saddleback. There was you know apparently a story of some Mormons who showed up to want to do, learn how to do Purpose Driven Mormonism and you know created a kafuffle and then you have the whole synagogue 2000 thing.

You know where Rick Warren was teaching at a Jewish synagogue, teaching them how to be Purpose Driven and then you have his appearances you know with different Muslim groups and then signing onto the common word between us and then you know his endorsement of Dan Kimball’s book The Emerging Church, along you know and he actually co-authored the book The Emerging Church with Brian McLaren as well as Dan Kimball and you just go down the line and you ask yourself the question if Rick Warren is really an orthodox guy, if Rick Warren is really a leader who truly is somebody whom we can listen to their teaching and be edified by because they rightly handle God’s Word, then why all the noise and distortion on the other end of the spectrum. What is going on here?

Something is amiss, something is askew. It is as if he is speaking out of both sides of his mouth. People say, ‘Well he is orthodox. Look at the you know,’ and I remember of course his apologist Richard Abonist taking me to task on my own blog at the time, you know where I was taking Rick Warren to task and then of course I asked and ended up having several email exchanges with the some of the major leaders over at Saddleback Church regarding the things that he was saying publically.

And then Rick Warren invited me to a Purpose Driven Community Conference. I was his guest there for a few days and then afterwards I was able to meet with him, me and Bob Derway met with him for a good hour and a half and I was able to tell him to his face the things that I was concerned about what he was doing and the things that he you know and the impact it was having on the church.

Obviously it didn’t produce any fruit. I think the expectation he had is that after I found out what a nice guy he is and how smart he is, that I would cut him some slack. Well that is not what ended up happening. But the point and then you know and then last year we had the whole thing where you had the Kingsway document which was you know basically co-authored by one of the pastors at Saddleback Church with a Muslim in a mosque in Los Angeles and this Kingsway document, the Orange County register reporter who initially reported on it.

The way he read it was that you know this Kingsway document was trying to basically say that Muslims and Christians worship the same God and of course you know the folks at Saddleback went into spin control and denied all of that and so then there was a follow up article last year where you know the reporter ended up publishing large segments of the Kingsway document to say, ‘Listen I wasn’t making this up. Here is the document itself. Here is portions of it and he got permission to publish portions of it from the Muslim who co-authored the piece with one of the pastors at Saddleback.

So here is the idea is that something is wrong. Something is wrong in the sense that on the one hand you have men like Rick Warren and I would even argue men like James MacDonald, men like Mark Driscoll, men like Andy Stanley who basically hide behind their orthodox statement of faith on their websites.

But then they say and do things that are contrary to those orthodox statements of faith and when they are caught well those things that they said are dead. They have miraculously disappear. Whoosh they are gone and this has been a constant story with Rick Warren. Okay and we had an example of that happen last night and by the way last night was a terrible night for me.

I was suffering from some you know major stomach bug and was nauseous most of the night and practically delirious and it didn’t start to clear up until I finally gave in at four in the morning and decided to just go ahead and hurl and yeah I shouldn’t have to share all that with you.

But anyway last night you know I was kind of out of the fight and Rick Warren on his Facebook page literally posted a recommended follow list of ‘The Top 100 Pastors You Should Be Following,’ and it reads like a whose who of Heretic’s and yeah I mean there is some good guys in the list.

But I am going to talk about that shortly and kind of roll it up into this general how do I put it? This general thing that I have been observing now for the more than a decade and that is that in the seeker driven movement.

The primary leaders feign or give lip service to orthodoxy while their actions and the things they are doing when they think that critics or haters or bloggers are not exactly watching that the things they say contradict that and in some cases they have to do it out in the open and take the hit and let the controversy roll.

But that is generally not their MO and when they are caught, often times the evidence disappears. The same thing happened with Andy Stanley. Remember the Andy Stanley segment we did? Was it yesterday or the day before where he cleverly denies the inerrancy of scripture or you know openly attacks it.

Well that video disappeared. It is gone. Well thankfully I have a backup copy because the one thing I have learned over the years in dealing with the seeker driven leadership, especially those higher up is when they accidentally stick their foot in their mouth, you need to make sure you keep the evidence. Because when it gets out into the general blogosphere what they have done is contrary to scripture. The evidence disappears.

So the Rick Warren thing that he posted last night it was only up for a few hours before it whoosh disappeared, and thankfully some people made copies of it and what he said so that I can report on it today. The Andy Stanley thing I am going to basically come back and re examine it in light of a clarification that Andy Stanley made on Denny Burk’s blog which I think well doesn’t actually help the case.

And then we are going to spend a large amount of time listening to a segment that I have been patiently waiting for the right time to bring here to Fighting for the Faith and it is Mark Driscoll’s four points of evangelicalism.

There was a twenty minute video that he posted a couple of weeks ago on YouTube from The Resurgence Conference last October, which was held in Orange County and in there Driscoll does not realise just how badly he puts his foot in his mouth in this video. When you take the time to examine it critically to examine what he says biblically. What he says is so far astride of what the scriptures really teach regarding the importance of sound doctrine.

That we have got some major problems and it kind of gets on the sub point that I want to talk about here and that is that how what kind of worldview, what kind of theological worldview makes it possible for you to believe that this church where the pastor teaches rank heresy is still part of the body of Christ and this church over here where the pastor is practically you know the next iteration of Benny Hinn is also part of the body of Christ.

Well there is an answer to the question and that is it is an irrational postmodern worldview which by the way post maternity has its philosophical roots in twentieth century fascism. Go back and listen to my lecture Resistance is futile. You will be assimilated into the community from May 11th 2012. That is the episode of Fighting for the Faith. If you are not sure what I am talking about.

If you are new to the programme and you haven’t listened to that lecture. You need to pause right here and go listen to that. But we are going to address that and it comes in the form of this talk about tribes. ‘Well my tribe, my tribe.’

We have got a problem here and that is that we are not dealing with people you know major leaders who actually firmly hold to what scripture says that all truth is transcendent and that every congregation is actually biblically and duty bound to believe, teach and confess the same doctrine. I know that sounds crazy. But it is true. That is and we are at the opposite of that is what we are getting in these major seeker driven leaders. So we have got some major problems that we are going to be addressing in you know the first half of this programme.

So we have got a lot of ground to cover I recommend that you make yourself comfortable. If you have the ability to take notes today that might help. Although I am not exactly following a clear outline. You should see the mess that is my notes for this programme. But this is one of those programmes where you know I am not going to be screaming and yelling and you know anything like that.

But what I am saying here, it gets to the nub of the problem as to what we are dealing with men like again Rick Warren, Andy Stanley, Mark Driscoll, James MacDonald and others who are these de facto tribal leaders who are working against what scripture commands regarding sound biblical theology and methodology and in so….anyway with that we are going to dive into the programme and proper and we are going to start off with our Rick Warren update, which requires me to do this.

[Plays music song]

Purpose by John Tartaglia

Purpose.
It keeps you going strong
Like a car with a full
Tank of gas.

Everyone else has a purpose,
So what’s mine?

Oh look.
Here’s a penny.
It’s from the year I was born.

It’s a sign!

Ha! Ba ba ba ba doo doo doo doo doo.

I don’t know how I know,
But I’m gonna find my purpose.
I don’t know where I’m gonna look,
But I’m gonna find my purpose.

Gotta find out.
Don’t wanna wait.
Got to make sure that my life will be great.
Gotta find my purpose.
Before it’s too late…..

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah that is right. That is our Rick Warren update music and you know this is the first real Rick Warren update that we have done. Since the horrific and terrible news hit, you know that basically the news wire is that Rick Warren’s son had committed suicide and I purposely kind of avoided doing any Rick Warren updates just to give him time to grieve and you know so as I you know think that is the Christian thing to do. But enough time has now passed and Rick Warren has done something very dangerous that I am glad that he took it down.

But again the fact that he even put this up shows the problem and over and over again when Rick Warren does these types of things Christians who know their Bible call him out on it and then the offending thing that he has done disappears. But the fact that he does these things, shows there is something extremely wrong with Rick Warren’s theology and worldview and again my goal today is to kind of flesh that out and help you see it for what it is.

So as we work through this first hour of the programme today and it will go a little bit long. Keep in mind that this segment on Rick Warren, the next segment on Andy Stanley and then the next segment on Mark Driscoll. They are all really one unit. They work together and I am trying to help you to see something that I see. Does that make sense? So you can find this by the way, you can find what Rick Warren said at the Stand up for the Truth website – standupforthetruth.com.

Amy Spreeman who is a radio talk show host up there in Wisconsin. She was adjourning on the spot. Found you know somebody alerted her to this, she got right on it. Copied exactly verbatim everything that was on this post on Rick Warren’s Facebook wall and it was only up for a few hours before it was pulled and according to Amy. We had a little email correspondence.

According to Amy the statements, the comments that were being made on Rick Warren’s wall were very telling. But let me tell you so here is the name of the post by the way. It is stand up for the truth. It is Rick Warren’s Top 100 Pastors to Follow. Here is what she says. Here is the exact post. But you can also follow the link above which by the way is now a dead link to see the strange conversation happening at Rick Warren’s Facebook page. So here is the status update by Rick Warren. So it was posted by Rick Warren and Rick Warren said quote…..

Rick Warren, “I encourage you to follow these senior pastors on Twitter.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Again it is the Facebook status. Began with Rick Warren saying, ‘I encourage you to follow these senior pastors on Twitter’ and the senior pastors are organized based upon the number of followers they have on Twitter…..

Over 1,000,000

1. Joel Osteen @JoelOsteen 1,708,237 Lakewood

So number one Rick Warren wants you to follow Joel Osteen.”

2. Rick Warren @RickWarren 1,045,879 Saddleback

Of course Rick Warren is number two so he wants you to follow him as well.

3. T.D. Jakes @BishopJakes 1,032,990 Potter’s House

Rick Warren also wants you to follow T.D. Jakes on Twitter. By the way T.D. Jakes still is not orthodox. I don’t consider him a Christian brother at all. There is no such thing as a Trinitarian Modalist and what happened at The Elephant Room 2 was an absolute abortion. I apologise for the term. It was an abortion of sound biblical theology and what should have happened.

Other people that Rick Warren said basically said people need to follow.

Over 600,000
4. Marcos Witt @MarcosWitt 602,194 Lakewood Hispanic

Over 300,000
5. Mark Driscoll @PastorMark 381,326 Mars Hill
6. Louie Giglio @LouieGiglio 363,979 Passion City                                                                                    

7. Cash Luna @PastorCashLuna 350,674 Casa De Dios

Guy by the name of Cash Luna. Now this is somebody you probably are unaware of, Cash Luna is a Spanish speaking televangelist who is of the same kind of ilk as Benny Hinn. You know miracles, people shaking and falling down on stage and stuff like that. Cash Luna is as heretical if not more heretical than Benny Hinn. The reason why we don’t cover him here is well because I don’t speak Spanish. But the people who I am in contact with you know in the Hispanic speaking community. This guy is very dangerous and he is a young good looking kid. So he has got years and years to spread his heresy.

That Rick would just say, ‘Hey you need to follow Cash Luna,’ is just ridiculous.

Over 200,000
8. Andy Stanley @AndyStanley 291,437 Northpoint                                                                                                                        

9. Brian Houston @BrianCHouston 267,970 Hillsong

More on the list Brian Houston. Yeah we need to follow Brian Houston as badly as we need a whole in our heads.

10.Judah Smith @JudahSmith 233,400 City
11.Matt Chandler @MattChandler74 215,357 Village
12. Matthew Barnett @MatthewBarnett 202,436 Dream Center

Over 100,000
13. David Platt @PlattDavid 195,246 Brook Hills
14. Steven Furtick @StevenFurtick 160,477 Elevation

Steven Furtick, Ed Young, Joseph Prince.

15. Craig Groeschel @CraigGroeschel 155,636 LifeChurch
16. Ed Young @EdYoung 154,001 Fellowship
17. Joseph Prince @JosephPrince 151,898 New Creation                                                                                       

18. Bill Hybels @BillHybels 147,181 Willow Creek                                                                                                                           19. David Evans @DavidGEvans1 135,520 Bethany                                                                                                                      

20. Noel Jones @BishopNoelJones 129,663 City of Refuge                                                                                                            

21. Troy Gramling @TroyGramling 125,245 Potential

Troy Gramling. Rick Warren literally said Pastors you should follow on Twitter include Troy Gramling. Troy Gramling has no clue what The Bible actually says. Every single time we review a Troy Gramling sermon it is literally like watching a train wreck in slow motion. The guy could not exegete his way correctly out of a paper bag, if I gave him a flash light and a map – he couldn’t pull it off and yet Rick Warren wants us to follow Troy Gramling.

22. Philip Mantofa @philipmantofa 124,354 Mawar Sharon
23. Timothy Dolan @CardinalDolan 122,326 St. Patrick’s
24. Pete Wilson @pwilson 120,295 Crosspoint
25. Jentezen Franklin @JentezenFranklin 120,286 Free Chapel

Jentezen Franklin, Pete Wilson.

26. Ron Edmondson @RonEdmondson 105,720 Immanuel
Over 50,000
27. Perry Noble @PerryNoble 91,403 New Spring

Perry Noble, Bill Johnson.

28. Charles Stanley @InTouchMin 91,177 First Baptist
29. Bill Johnson @BillJohnsonBJM 89,752 Bethel

Bill Johnson of Bethel up in Reading. Okay Bill Johnson is in the same camp as people like Patricia King and the ihoff folks and Rick Warren is saying you need to follow this person on Twitter.

30. James MacDonald @JamesMacdonald 76,500 Harvest Bible
31. Charles Blake @BishopCEBlake 73,195 West Angeles
32. Joshua Harris @HarrisJosh 72,453 Covenant Life
33. Nicky Gumbel @NickyGumbel 70,110 Holy Trinity Brompton                                                     

34. Mark Batterson @MarkBatterson 68,660 National Community

You need to follow Mark Batterson according to Rick Warren.

35. Tony Evans @DrTonyEvans 64,494 Oak Cliff Bible
36. Tullian Tchividjian @PastorTullian 62,724 Coral Ridge
37. Greg Laurie @GregLaurie 61,924 Harvest
38. David Crank @DavidCrank 57,534 Faith

You need to follow David Crank. Erwin McManus, Robert Morris.

39. Chuck Swindoll @ChuckSwindoll 55,147 Stonebriar
40. Erwin McManus @ErwinMcmanus 52,784 Mosaic

Over 10,000
41. Chris Hill @PastorChrisHill 46,949 Potter’s House
42. Robert Morris @PsRobertMorris 45,608 Gateway
43. Charles Jenkins @CharlesJenkins 42,823 Fellowship Missionary
44. David Jeremiah @DavidJeremiah 42,392 Shadow Mountain
45. Albert Cutie @PadreAlberto 42,208 Ch. Of Resurrection
46. Chris Hodges @Chris_Hodges 38,810 Ch of the Highlands
47. Casey Treat @CaseyTreat 37,174 Christian Faith Center
48. Tim Keller @TimKellernyc 36,914 Redeemer
49. Mark Dever @MarkDever 36,294 Capitol Hill
50. Bobby Minor @BobbyMinor 34,464 Courageous Church
51. Darrin Patrick @DarrinPatrick 32,716 The Journey
52. Miles McPherson @MilesMcpherson 32,691 Rock
53. David Anderson @AndersonSpeaks 32,643 Bridgeway
54. J.D. Greear @JDGreear 32,219 Summit
55. Jeffrey Rachmat @JeffreyRachmat 31,805 Jakarta Praise
56. Matt Carter @_Matt_Carter 28,896 Austin Stone
57. David Nasser @DavidNasser 28,676 Christ City
58. Jud Wilhite @JudWihite 28,296 Central Christian
59. Kevin DeYoung @RevKevDeYoung 27,493 University Reformed
60. Johnny Hunt @JohnnymHunt 25,565 First Baptist
61. Tommy Barnett @Tommy Barnett 25,449 First Assembly
62. Stovall Weems @StovallWeems 24,531 Celebration
63. Sergio De La Mora @PastorSergio 24,114 Cornerstone
64. Greg Surratt @GregSurratt 23,813 Seacoast
65. Joel A’Bell @Joelsbell 23,432 Hillsong
66. Ron Carpenter @RonCarpenter 23,151 Redemption Outreach
67. Jonathan Falwell @JonathanFalwell 22,853 Thomas Road
68. Willie George @Willie_George 21,240 Church on the Move
69. Kerry Shook @KerryShook 20,940 Woodlands
70. Jack Graham @JacknGraham 20,293 Prestonwood
71. Derek Dunn @CyberDerek 20,156 City Harvest, Irvine
72. Ligon Duncan @LigonDuncan 19,949 First Presbyterian
73. Rudolph McKissick Jr @BishopMckJr 19,441 Bethel Baptist
74. Rich Wilkerson @RichWilkerson 19,131 Trinity
75. Dan Kimball @DanKimball 18,816 Vintage Faith Church
76. Phil Munsey @PhilMunsey 18,587 Life Church
77. Jared Wilson @JaredcWilson 18,518 Middletown Springs
78. Eric Mason @PastorEMase 18,185 Epiphany Fellowship
79. Brandon Hatmaker @BrandonHatmaker 17,836 Austin New
80. Matthew Ashimolowo @KICCLondon 17,756 Kingsway
81. Gary Clark @GaryJamesClarke 16,772 Hillsong, London
82. Burk Parsons @BurkParsons 16,707 St. Andrew’s
83. Rick Bezet @Rick_Bezet 16,422 New Life
84. Britt Merrick @BrittMerrick 15,912 Reality
85. Douglas Wilson @DouglasWils 14,126 Christ Church
86. Matt Fry @MattFry 13,182 C3 Church
87. Ray Ortlund @rayortlund 12,780 Immanuel
88. Jonathan Stockstill @Jon_Stockstill 12,266 Bethany World
89. Brady Boyd @PastorBrady 12,187 New Life
90. John Francis @BishopJFrancis 12,174 Ruach City
91. Bruce Frank @BruceFrank1 11,913 Biltmore
92. Joe Champion @JoeChampion 11,509 Celebration
93. Joey Bonifacio @JoeyBonifacio 11,414 Victory Fort
94. Thabiti Anyabwile @ThabitiAnyabwil 11,022 First Baptist
95. Bob Roberts Jr. @BobRobertsjr 10,890 NorthWood
96. Andreas Nielsen @AndresNielsen 10,745 Hillsong Stockholm
97. Ronnie Floyd @RonnieFloyd 10,722 Cross Church
98. Greg Locke @PastorLocke 10,450 Global Vision Bible
99. Ray McCauley @PsRayMcCauley 10,327 Rhema Bible
100. Dave Stone @DaveStone920 9,462 Southeast Christian

And the list goes on and on. It practically reads like a whose who of the most prominent Bible twisters and heretics on the planet today and Rick Warren began his post with again. This is a direct quote, ‘I encourage you to follow these Senior Pastors on Twitter.’ Now why if Rick Warren is truly orthodox, if Rick Warren is somebody truly believes, teaches and confesses what scripture says, especially as in regards to the importance of sound biblical doctrine and the importance not having fellowship with and promoting false teachers.

Why would he send out a Facebook status encouraging you to follow T.D. Jakes, Joel Osteen, you know Cash Luna and other heretics. Why? Answer because Rick Warren really doesn’t believe what scripture says regarding the importance of sound doctrine and the dangers of false teachers. He has a different ideology and the ideology he shares is the same ideology shared by Andy Stanley and I would even argue Mark Driscoll and James MacDonald and others. He does not hold the biblical theological view here. He holds a different view.

Now let me remind you what scripture says we ought to do regarding false teachers. Romans 16 v 17-18, here is what it says. Paul writing under the inspiration of the Holy Spirit says…..

Romans 16 v 17-18 (ESV – English Standard Version)

17 I appeal to you, brothers, to watch out for those who cause divisions and create obstacles contrary to the doctrine that you have been taught; avoid them.

Okay another translation says mark them, avoid them. Okay so I am going to read a little bit more of this. Now I want to point something out. This passage is misused often when and the way it is misused is when this verse is being used against those who are warning people about false teachers. What will happen is that a person will say, ‘Well listen it says here I am supposed to avoid those who are causing divisions and you are causing divisions by pointing out that this guy is a false teacher.” Again read it in context. Here is what it says….

Romans 16 v 17-18 (ESV – English Standard Version)

17 I appeal to you, brothers, to watch out for those who cause divisions and create obstacles contrary to the doctrine that you have been taught; avoid them. 18 For such persons do not serve our Lord Christ, but their own appetites, and by smooth talk and flattery they deceive the hearts of the naive.

By smooth talk and flattery the deceive the hearts of naïve. Now here is the deal. Rick Warren if he is truly a Christian, if he is truly a Christian pastor is duty bound by scripture to obey this command, to mark and avoid those who teach doctrine contrary to sound doctrine. Right sound biblical doctrine. You want to know what that is it is right there in scripture. But he doesn’t do that. Yesterday he literally sent out a Facebook status encouraging people to follow some of the most notorious heretics in the church today.

Let me read to you another passage. Okay 2 John, this is a letter written by the apostle John to the elect lady. This is more than likely a woman who was a benefactor if you were to think of it that way, where and there was a church that met in her home. Keep in mind you know in the first century there weren’t church buildings like we have now.

The church was persecuted and for them to have a church building you know down at the local corner. It just makes them a target, so often times you know Christians would meet in secret or they would meet in people’s homes or under extreme circumstances they would meet in catacombs and you know and off places so as not to draw attention to themselves. So this letter is written to a woman who has a church that meets in her home. Okay here is what it says.

2 John 1 v 1-4 (ESV – English Standard Version)

The elder to the elect lady and her children, whom I love in truth, and not only I, but also all who know the truth, because of the truth that abides in us and will be with us forever:

Grace, mercy, and peace will be with us, from God the Father and from Jesus Christ the Father’s Son, in truth and love.

I rejoiced greatly to find some of your children walking in the truth, just as we were commanded by the Father. And now I ask you, dear lady—not as though I were writing you a new commandment, but the one we have had from the beginning—that we love one another.

So here is the command, we have all heard it before. Love one another.

2 John 1 v 6-10 (ESV – English Standard Version)

And this is love, that we walk according to his commandments; this is the commandment, just as you have heard from the beginning, so that you should walk in it.

So here is the deal you walk in the truth. Walk in love.

            2 John 1 v 7-10 (ESV – English Standard Version)

For many deceivers have gone out into the world, those who do not confess the coming of Jesus Christ in the flesh. Such a one is the deceiver and the antichrist. Watch yourselves, so that you may not lose what we have worked for, but may win a full reward. Everyone who goes on ahead and does not abide in the teaching of Christ, does not have God. Whoever abides in the teaching has both the Father and the Son. 10 If anyone comes to you and does not bring this teaching, do not receive him into your house…..[Which would be the church. Don’t receive him into the church] or give him any greeting,11 for whoever greets him takes part in his wicked works.

So here we have Rick Warren on his Facebook page, who Rick Warren considers himself a pastor to pastors. Right he has got more than a million people who follow him on Facebook and Twitter and he says, ‘Here is a list of people that you should follow on Twitter.’ @JoelOsteen @BishopJakes @PastorCashLuna @BrianCHouston, @BillJohnsonBJM, @stevenfurtick, @TroyGramling, @perrynoble and the list goes on and on and on.

Well what is he doing? He is doing exactly what the scripture tells him not to do. Is he not bound by these commands of scripture just like he is bound to the commands of scripture that say, ‘You shall not bear false witness. You shall not covet your neighbour’s property. You shall not lie. You shall not steal. You shall not commit adultery.’

Exodus 20 v 14-17 (ESV – English Standard Version)

14 “You shall not commit adultery.

15 “You shall not steal.

16 “You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.

17 “You shall not covet your neighbour’s house; you shall not covet your neighbor’s wife, or his male servant, or his female servant, or his ox, or his donkey, or anything that is your neighbour’s.”

Is he not also bound to these commands? The answer is yes he is. But he won’t be bound by them and he can’t be bound them because his allegiance is not to what scripture says. His allegiance is to an ideology that allows him to affirm every single, every single congregation that calls itself Christian regardless of what it teaches, including The Roman Catholic Church. His ideology allows him to say all of those are expressions of the truth and that they have some truth in them and their communities and Christ is among them and I am not going to rebuke them or separate from them. In fact I can encourage everybody to go to them.

Keep in mind Rick Warren recently endorsed a book by a Roman Catholic called Catholics Come Home and Rick Warren wrote an endorsement for it and when called on the carpet regarding that. You know what he said, ‘God loves diversity.’ That is what he said, ‘God loves diversity.’ No God does not theological and doctrinal diversity. Instead God likes doctrinal fidelity and sound doctrine. Otherwise God the Holy Spirit would not have inspired the apostle Paul to write these words from Titus 1, starting at v5. Here is what it says…..

Titus 1 v 5-8 (ESV – English Standard Version)

This is why I left you in Crete, so that you might put what remained into order, and appoint elders in every town as I directed you— if anyone is above reproach, the husband of one wife, and his children are believers and not open to the charge of debauchery or insubordination. For an overseer, as God’s steward, must be above reproach. He must not be arrogant or quick-tempered or a drunkard or violent or greedy for gain, but hospitable, a lover of good, self-controlled, upright, holy, and disciplined.

And here is the important verse.

Titus 1 v 9-11 (ESV – English Standard Version)

He must hold firm to the trustworthy word as taught, so that he may be able to give instruction in sound doctrine and also to rebuke those who contradict it.

If God liked diversity of doctrine, if God if that is really what God is really all about, as long as it has Jesus name on it – then the Holy Spirit would have never ever inspired Paul to say that a pastor ‘must be able to give instruction in sound doctrine and to rebuke those who contradict it.’ And this goes on. For why should we rebuke people who don’t teach sound doctrine? Here is the reason v10.

            Titus 1 v 10 (ESV – English Standard Version)

10 For there are many who are insubordinate,

These are rebellious people.

Titus 1 v 10 (ESV – English Standard Version)

10 Empty talkers and deceivers, especially those of the circumcision party. 11 They must be silenced,

God is not saying, ‘Oh no, no, no we need to…..I love diversity and as long as Jesus name is being proclaimed, it doesn’t matter what anybody is teaching doctrinally. They can just teach whatever they want.’ No scripture says that they have to be silenced. Okay here is what it says….

Titus 1 v 10-14 (ESV – English Standard Version)

10 For there are many who are insubordinate, empty talkers and deceivers, especially those of the circumcision party. 11 They must be silenced, since they are upsetting whole families by teaching for shameful gain what they ought not to teach.

12 One of the Cretans, a prophet of their own, said, “Cretans are always liars, evil beasts, lazy gluttons.” 13 This testimony is true. Therefore rebuke them sharply, that they may be sound in the faith, 14 not devoting themselves to Jewish myths and the commands of people who turn away from the truth.

Yeah it gets worse actually…..

Titus 1 v 10-15 (ESV – English Standard Version)

15 To the pure, all things are pure, but to the defiled and unbelieving, nothing is pure; but both their minds and their consciences are defiled. 16 They profess to know God, but they deny him by their works. They are detestable, disobedient, unfit for any good work.

Now I would say Rick Warren falls under the category of Titus 1 v 16. He claims, he professes to know God. But he denies that he knows God by his works. By all the shenanigans that he engages in, all the Bible twisting that he engages in, all of the times that he is out there promoting rank heretics.

Basically having pastors under his authority writing documents that make it appear that Muslims and Christians worship the same God. I mean the list goes on and on and on. He professes to know God, professes to be sound in the faith, professes to be orthodox.

Yet every time he opens his mouth he shows that he is not. He constantly does things that are contrary to sound doctrine and what is his pet procedure for doing this? He causes the offending thing to disappear, so that it can’t the only place that it remains – a record of his offences are on so called discernment blogs.

Uh huh that should tell you something. He professes to know God, but he denies that he knows God based upon his works. Because his works are not accordance with sound doctrine. He is teaching exotic theologies and has no problem working with and endorsing people who also do the same thing. Why? Because he is not conscious bound by what the scripture commands here. He is beholden to an ideology that is foreign to scripture.

Now what I am going to do here is I am going to pause and I am going to take our first break and if you would like to email me regarding anything you have heard on this edition or any previous editions of Fighting for the Faith, you can do so. My email address is talkback@fightingforthefaith.com or you can subscribe on Facebook. It is facebook.com/piratechristian or you can follow me on Twitter. My name there is @piratechristian.

When we come back we are going to look at the Andy Stanley piece kind of revisit what he said. Look at what Denny Burk said and look at Andy Stanley’s clarification and again all of these pieces work together and then after that we have got a Mark Driscoll update. So stay tuned. Don’t want to miss it. We will be right back.

Leave a Reply

