Fighting for the Faith Chris Rosebrough Reviews Christine Caine’s Sermon at Steven Furtick’s Code Orange Revival 2012


Below is a transcript taken from Chris Rosebrough’s radio show podcast Fighting For The Faith Radio podcast which was originally broadcast on Monday January 16th 2012, which you can subscribe to iTunes. I highly recommend you do this if you want to develop discernment.  

[Segment – 00:40:46 – 01:11:06]

Here is the video link for this transcript >  http://youtu.be/vDYkj6Ll0ro

Chris Rosebrough, “Anyway moving along, we have got another segment here and what we are going to do, we are going to jump ahead to where Christine Caine takes the stage there at Elevation at the Code Orange Revival and watch right out of the shoot she is going to do the very thing that Matt Chandler said not to do – read herself and read Steven Furtick into The Bible. Yeah it is true here is Christine Caine.”

Christine Caine, “Awesome how are you all doing? Wow you can all be seated. You all, you have got to sit down. This place is incredible. You can be seated, I don’t know how I am supposed to preach after that. I don’t know, I have never kind of quite been introduced like that, all the Elevation Church people. I just turned round to Holly as Pastor Steven was talking going that is unbelievable that you know like twenty one percent was that right?

I am just reiterating that for the finance people. Twenty one percent of all the tithes and offerings coming in this week, so you all better give good this week. That is all I am saying. I just I am in awe and I have not been able to wait. You know I love, this is room is packed. This place is a little bit like God take this is in context, in that like you are omnipresent, you are here. You are across the room. You are down the street. You are all over the worldwide web. It is like wherever you look, here we are and it is my honour and privilege to be here. I couldn’t wait.

You know when Pastor Steven first started to tweet and kind of just fulfil us out there about the revival. I am old school, I am both Greek and a woman and raised in Australia. So we only preach….”

Chris Rosebrough, “Talking about herself……”

Christine Caine, “So we only preach three ways hard fast and continuously. So you will not fall asleep and so I am kind of getting all fired up when I was reading those tweets and I am dropping hints. You know like you really need me to be there. But I have been watching every night and you know I have learnt a lot, Pastor Craig taught me how to be an idiot and it was awesome and then Pastor Jentezen informed me that Pastor Craig was option number one. He was option number two. But I wasn’t hearing anything about who was option number three, so I was hoping that you would still like it. But I was number one. Okay right it is okay. We are all number one and it just gets better and better with God.

So you don’t to miss one night of these revivals. I am like you know it is absolutely awesome what the LORD is doing. There is no doubt about it. But….”

Chris Rosebrough, “What exactly is He doing there? Sowing doctrinal confusion?”

Christine Caine, “But I really couldn’t wait and I am just loving it, because you are like everywhere. Like you know I have been watching this online every night and it has been awesome. But you have got to be here because it is insane online. It is another level of insanity in this place. It is another….it is a whole another level and I have been waiting for….”

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah I prefer to keep my insanity and my Christianity separate. You know just something I have, I am a little OCD (obsessive compulsive disorder) about you know, we continue…..”

Christine Caine, “It is another level and I have been waiting for today. You know Pastor Steven and Holly they have, it is not just like you stand here and you are supposed to say something nice. It is true. My heart was knitted to your Pastor. I first heard him actually online on a podcast I think on some kind of recording, talk about honour and that is why tonight as he was talking there I thought I hope the whole world listens. I don’t even need to get up and speak. I just wished that he kept going….”

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah the whole world needs to listen to Steven Furtick huh.”

Christine Caine, “Because I was weeping and I called my Pastor and I said to my Pastor, ‘There is this young man and you know kind of forty five. So anyone is  young. But anyway so do I look forty five? Right answer we can be friends. I am incidentally married to the single most ravaging piece of masculine flesh on planet earth and here he is, this is the man.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah I think that is part of her standard stump speech. I have heard her do that before.”

Christine Caine, “He is hot and he is the father of my two children alpha and omega and so we have Catherine, Bobbie and my little Sophia Joyce and they have a party to go to so they are at home and this church you are so outrageously generous that you sent my kids pizza which they are not allowed to have. But anyway you sent my kids pizza and beads and paints, because my little girls want to be artists and I have got to tell you this is the first church. Because their mother and dad we are like travelling itinerant ministers. They called us on the phone and said, ‘Mummy any time that church wants you, you can go, can you go to that church again.”

Chris Rosebrough, “So far Christine Caine takes the stage and she talks about herself. I wonder what God is saying through this. I you know can’t quite figure it out. Maybe if I tuned into the Elevation Network you know I can get some kind of a weird vibe that will tell me what God is saying through this. Because you know I am just assuming I am not hearing a single word from God at this point.”

Christine Caine, “You all want to stay and have the whole revival over there, so they were like so excited and I had before I get to preaching you don’t have to worry, because I can say a lot in a little period of time. But there is just one passage that I want to talk about before I get into my message for the night and I know that God is going to move powerfully.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah now watch this, this  is the very thing Matt Chandler warned against.”

Christine Caine, “I want to say something because I had this. I was here last year and was so moved then and it was more than what I thought. But there was something I wanted to say, not just to the church. But to everyone watching this and there are multiply countless, thousands of people, tens of thousands of people watching this around the world right now and you know I don’t say this lightly. But I want to read a couple of passages of scripture and just explain my whole experience of my husband and I in our friendship with your Pastors and with this house in our interaction. You know David said I just am going to read a scripture out of 1 Chronicles 22 v 5. Then I am going to turn to 2 Chronicles. But David said in v5.

1 Chronicles 22 v 5 (NIV – New International Version)

David said, “My son Solomon is young and inexperienced, and the house to be built for the Lord should be of great magnificence and fame

Everyone say great magnificence and fame. I love this….

1 Chronicles 22 v 5 (NIV – New International Version)

And splendour in the sight of all the nations.  Therefore I will make preparations for it.”

I love this because David was getting ready to build the greatest project ever built. The greatest house to God, the temple of God and this was going to be, you heard I think Pastor….”

Chris Rosebrough, “Okay now let me just kind of help you out here. So that you can understand the magnitude of what it is that Christine Caine is about to say. She is reading from The Old Testament account of David storing up basically you know the building supplies, so that the temple of the LORD can be built. Okay those of you who have travelled to Israel. Now personally I have never been to Israel. I hope to go some day. But in Israel, in Jerusalem you have the temple mount. Alright and on the temple mount there used to be the temple.

Alright the, literally where the presence of the LORD was, this is a huge historical spot in the history of The Bible, the salvation history and all the light and yes at this point Christine Caine is about to draw the comparison between Elevation Church and the temple of the LORD in this Old Testament Book of Chronicles.

Christine Caine, “You heard I think Pastor Jentezen talked about how many billions of dollars that building project was going to be and what I love is he says,

1 Chronicles 22 v 5 (NIV – New International Version)

5 “My son Solomon is young and inexperienced,

And then he gives him 85 billion bucks to go and build something awesome. It is just fantastic. But he says he is young and inexperienced and then he goes on and he says but there is only one kind of house. If we are going to build a house to the LORD, there is only one kind of house that must be built and this isn’t just a small insignificant house. He goes on he says it should be of great magnificence and fame

1 Chronicles 22 v 5

It should be of great magnificence and fame and  splendour in the sight of all the nations.

And I don’t know about you, but those of you that are planted in this house. I am from the other side of the world. I am from the uttermost parts of the earth and your fame by the grace of God. Your renown by God’s grace has spread around the earth. You are building a house that is a magnificent house. That is a great house….”

Chris Rosebrough, “So let me see if I have this straight. Elevation Church has the renown around the world that Solomon’s temple had. Huh because not that the renown of Jesus is making its way around the world from Elevation Church it is that they have this renown. I mean this is breathtakingly arrogant and absolutely narcissistic, am I to somehow believe that Elevation Church is graced with the presence of Steven Furtick and the renown that is going around the world like Solomon and his temple? Really, yeah I wouldn’t say that the focus here is off by one or two degrees. I would say it is off by one hundred and eighty.”

Christine Caine, “That is a great house and that we see him impacting the world and you know what? The Bible teaches us that is the kind of house that ought to be built for the LORD. Because we saw a wonderful king and there should not be no-one on earth that gets a better house than the king of kings and the Lord of Lords than our mighty God.”

Chris Rosebrough, “That is right Elevation Church just like Solomon’s temple.”

Christine Caine, “And that the fame of Jesus should  resound throughout the earth. I love this.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah right after the fame of Steven Furtick and Elevation. Yeah Jesus is a well third spot there.”

Christine Caine, “And then the Queen of Sheba. When the house was built…..”

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah listen to what she does here…..”

Christine Caine, “Solomon was ruling and here you are five years on as a church. Almost six years, just about to celebrate and as I was driving here today from the airport.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Do you think the people at Elevation need their egos stroked anymore? I mean I am afraid that their brains might blow up. I mean….”

Christine Caine, “I was driving here today from the airport, kind of went we are only a third of a way through the revival and then we are just right into so many other things. But you are about to celebrate six years, who would have thought six years young. My little six year old just turned six. Because that is what you do when you are six, you turn six and so she turned six. But the Queen of Sheba, she said the Bible says in 2 Chronicles 9…..

2 Chronicles 9 v 1 (NIV – New International Version)

1 When the Queen of Sheba heard of Solomon’s fame, she came to Jerusalem to test him with hard questions.

I love that. That is what women do sorry…..

2 Chronicles 9 v 1 (NIV – New International Version)

1 Arriving with a very great caravan—with camels

I didn’t bring any of those….

2 Chronicles 9 v 1-4 (NIV – New International Version)

1 Carrying spices, large quantities of gold, and precious stones—she came to Solomon and talked with him about all she had on her mind.Solomon answered all her questions; nothing was too hard for him to explain to her. When the queen of Sheba saw the wisdom of Solomon, as well as the palace he had built, the food on his table,

I want you to see how much everything matters.

2 Chronicles 9 v 4 (NIV – New International Version)

The food on his table, the seating of his officials,

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah see because the reason why the Holy Spirit had these details regarding Solomon and the temple and Solomon’s fame you know recorded is so that we can then compare Solomon to Steven Furtick….”

Christine Caine, “2 Chronicles 9 v 4 (NIV – New International Version)

4 “The attending servants in their robes, the cupbearers in their robes and the burnt offerings he made at the temple of the Lord, she was overwhelmed.

2 Chronicles 9 v 5-6 (NIV – New International Version)

She said to the king, “The report I heard in my own country about your achievements and your wisdom is true. But I did not believe what they said until I came and saw with my own eyes. Indeed, not even half the greatness of your wisdom was told me; you have far exceeded the report I heard.”

Chris Rosebrough, “I totally expect the Furtick Audaciously Revised translation of The Bible, when that thing finally comes out. Again that is the Furtick Audaciously Revised translation of The Bible. I fully expect that when that finally hits the bookshelves and the internet that there will be you know First and Second Furtick added to the end of that particular Bible.

Again that is the Furtick Audaciously Revised translation and once that is you know hits the bookshelves, we will be blessed with brand new material for The Bible – First and Second Furtick and I am telling you it will just be audacious and you know I am so glad that we were graced by his presence and that we finally have a place where the renown of somebody who is hearing from the LORD, can go around the world just like King Solomon.

2 Chronicles 9 v 7-8

How happy your men must be! How happy your officials, who continually stand before you and hear your wisdom! Praise be to the Lord your God, who has delighted in you and this house….

And I am here to tell you from the other side of the world. I had heard about what God was doing. I had heard about the greatness of this house.…..”

Chris Rosebrough, “I just want to vomit…..”

Christine Caine, “The excellence of this house. The magnificence of this house. But as someone that has come from across the earth. Not only did I hear you come in like the Queen of Sheba. I was breath taken, it is like the half of it wasn’t even told me. Every person that I meet here is on fire for God. Everyone has got an awesome salvation story.

Everyone has encountered a risen LORD. Everyone has got and I love the excellence. I love the generosity. I love the hospitality. Because that is what she said. You can tell the condition and the heart of a house, based on everything around that. When you have a house that sends pizza to my daughters to say thank you that your mummy would come and do a revival meeting, I think that is the kind of house that you ought to say thank God that I am planted in that kind of house, serving such great…..”

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah I know did you know that Solomon’s temple did not serve pizza. I mean that proves to you that Elevation Church in Charlotte, North Carolina exceeds the greatness of Solomon’s temple. Because they did not serve pizza there. You know I am just saying.”

Christine Caine, “Serving such great leaders that can hear from God. I love it.”

Chris Rosebrough, “So there we go narcissistic eisegesis like you wouldn’t believe. But now Elevation Church is Solomon’s temple. Yeah I am so glad that we finally have a place for the glory of the LORD to shine forth around the world there at Elevation Church in Charlotte, North Carolina and for the prophet Steven Furtick. I mean, I am sorry that maybe wrong but for the Messiah himself Steven Furtick.

By the way somebody pointed this out to me on Twitter and I thought this was kind of interesting if you remember back to the episode where I review the documentary that was made about you know the six year old fledgling church you know and how great it was. It was weird watching it because all of the stories that were told were telling the miracles of Steven Furtick. You know and it was done gospel style. In the sense that Jesus fasted for forty days, so did Steven Furtick. Jesus fed the five thousand, Steven Furtick dropped the twenty five thousand Easter eggs out of a helicopter. Jesus cursed the fig tree. Steven Furtick cursed Sofa Express.

Just weird I mean so you know it is like you are telling the story of the Messiah and it is not Jesus. It is Steven Furtick. Well someone pointed out to me that Jesus called his 12 disciples. Furtick texted 12 you know his 12 for this revival and it is interesting to note just like Jesus, you know remember Jesus one of His 12 betrayed Him. That would be Judas. Well one of Furtick’s 12 betrayed him. That would be Matt Chandler and how did Matt Chandler betray Steven Furtick? By preaching the biblical gospel. Just weird, just this you know it is like watching Jesus life mirrored in Steven Furtick, except for Steven Furtick is a mere man. Jesus was God in human flesh. Strange stuff.

Okay I am going to fast forward to the tail end now you know as we are doing our Code Orange Revival Recap from the weekend. Christine Caine again as she is getting ready to wind her message down. She is well, talking her gospel apparently is some kind of a message that God is able or with God all things are possible. I want to point this out. I want you to hear it and I will explain to you why this is not exactly good news and what is really going wrong here. Here again is Christine Caine…..

Christine Caine, “So anyway she is calling the captain and then she puts the phone down and she looks at the lady and me and she goes, ‘Mrs Caine the captain has said you can come on board.’ This other women I mean she said many four letter words, none of them are love and so what happened was they then opened and you know I mean I am being treated like royalty. They opened the gate I walked in. They opened the airplane door. I could hear people on the plane because they….”

Chris Rosebrough, “Isn’t it weird like how you know just kind pick any old spot in the middle of her speech and who is she talking about? Herself yeah weird, how is this a move of God again? What am I supposed to hear God say while she is talking about herself?”

Christine Caine, “I could hear people on the plane because they do that for special people. They are like who is she? Is that Madonna? Is that Lady Gaga? Didn’t know if I was to be offended. But anyway I am working on the plane going favour, faith is not fear. Anyway so I am on there and so now the plane is in Chicago. We are going to take off. I am texting everyone accidentally and you know God is on my side.

I just got a miracle. It is been a long time since this kind of you know the door is opening. The whole deal is happening and then we are in the light and the captain comes over the loudspeaker about thirty minutes. He says, ‘Ladies and gentlemen, because of bad weather one of the runways has been shut down. They are only operating one life one runway and so we are now number twenty seven for take off. We haven’t got enough gas to stay in line and then to be able to fly and land. So we have to get out of line. We have to go back to the gate, refuel and maybe we might get a clearance for take off tonight. But we don’t anticipate it.

So you know within ten seconds I went from faith is not fear, I am God’s chosen child to my God I can’t believe that I was preaching for you. When I did all of this and you couldn’t even and you know how you go. None of you just pastors. Okay so we were just like you know this isn’t going to work. Well this has never happened before or since, but I don’t know what happened. So I just went God I don’t know what you can do but I just want to see my girls.

So the plane turns round, like to go down the middle, to go down the closed runway. So that it can go back to the gate. As God is my witness, the plane turns, the captain comes over the loudspeaker and goes, ‘Ladies and gentlemen, please ensure that your seatbelts are securely fastened. We have been cleared for immediate take off.” He chucks a one eighty, puts it on full throttle, goes down the closed runway and we take off and I am waving to the other twenty six airplanes saying, ‘I don’t know what happened.’ But what is impossible with man is possible with God.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Okay now the reason I played this leading up again she is preaching about herself and her life experience. I mean seriously the Word of God is living and active not your life stories. So yeah your life stories don’t have the power to bring people to repentance and the forgiveness of their sins.

Just saying, but here now we begin to hear – she is talking about God’s favour and she mangles the concept biblically and now she is you know we are getting to the point where in her style of preaching, she is building up to the point where she is going to be screaming about it and everyone is going to be clapping about. You know big emotional thing going on here about God’s favour and how nothing is impossible with God.

But you see the thing is that the message, nothing is impossible with God is not the gospel. It is a fact. It is absolutely true. However God is not up in heaven you know basically sitting on his hands looking at you going, ‘When are you going to figure out that nothing is impossible with me.’ I mean as soon as you figure out, then I will be able to bless you and grace you with my favour. But until then I am pretty much powerless. Yeah that is not what is happening at all. Remember God is God, He is sovereign. He is the LORD. He is King. He is the alpha and the omega. The beginning and the end. God has a sovereign will, which is why scripture says when we pray anything according to His will. He will hear and answer.

So yeah the way this is being preached is that as soon as you come to the realisation that nothing is impossible with God, then God will start making the impossible happen in your life. The Bible doesn’t teach this. Yet this is exactly the implication of what it is that she is saying here. We continue…..”

Christine Caine, “When is the last time you just believed God in situations where you think, ‘You know that can’t happen.’ But God can make a way from small personal things to global things. You know when we started The A21 Campaign, remember this again. When we started The A21 Campaign pretty amazing. We hired some top consultants to come and do a feasibility study in Thessalonica Greece about the whole of Eastern Europe and what we should do.

And do you know the LORD, I just…..”

Chris Rosebrough, “Oh here we go again another life story…..”

Christine Caine, “I just had a sense from the LORD that we were to start in that region of the world. I already knew. We had talked to the consultants before I had been. I said I know this region is very dark. The faith sector is very small, very embryonic. The Church sector is very small in this region of the world. That is why there is so much darkness, because of the absence of light and then I said, ‘I know it is an economic mess.’

I didn’t quite realise how bad it was in. But I knew it was not good economically. I knew there was major corruption with anti–trafficking authorities. That there were very few laws that were protecting the rights of girls as victims and children as victims of trafficking and that there had been no convictions of traffickers and that we would have our work cut out for us and that is why nobody was there, because it was so difficult. And so we called the consultants in.

Remembering I didn’t ask them to come in and tell me if we could start A21 in Eastern Europe. It was just going to be how were we supposed to start and so they came in and I was flying to meet them in Thessalonica. My husband was already there with them and he called me. I was in Frankfurt airport, in the airport lounge and he said to me, he said, ‘Honey are you sitting down? You are not going to like what you are going to hear.’

Now that is not a great way to start any conversation. He says, ‘I know what you are like. You are not going to like this.’ He said, ‘They have done the whole feasibility study.’ It was like a hundred page document. Extremely comprehensive, talking with the European Union, the European Parliament and the trafficking authorities, I mean it was as comprehensive as you will ever get. And he said to me, ‘Really Christine this is the bottom line.

This is what you are flying over to, at the end of the whole feasibility study their suggestion is this is their words – verbatim. They said, ‘We strongly recommend that you do not start The A21 campaign in Eastern Europe, because it will be impossible to see any convictions of traffickers, to find girls rescued because of….and then they went on to list the reasons and all the reasons were the same reasons that I had given them and they went through and I thought, ‘I paid you a lot of money and flew you across the world to tell me what I already knew.’

And all of a sudden right there in the airport lounge in Frankfurt, which me and everybody else in that lounge will remember this moment. Because extremely inappropriately loudly I stood up into my cell phone and I had my own Numbers 13 experience. Now I know I am not Caleb but God used Caleb in Numbers 13.”

Chris Rosebrough, “She had a Numbers 13 experience, just like Caleb. Now she is reading herself into the story of Numbers. This isn’t exegesis. This is eisegesis and it is narcissistic at that which makes it narcigesis.”

Christine Caine, “But God used Caleb to motivate and inspire me in the twenty first century, to take some steps of faith and a risk and so I stood up and I went you tell them that we are well able to do what God has called us to do. We are well able to take the land and can I just tell you. Four years since that report that….”

Chris Rosebrough, “So yeah just like Caleb were, well able to take the land. This isn’t the gospel, nor is this Christian preaching. Because this basically makes God into our butler, as soon as you realise that nothing is impossible with Him, you could pretty much strong arm Him into anything.”

Christine Caine, “Four years since that report that still have frames that tells me that it is impossible. By the grace of God A21 is in six nations, not just one. We have traffickers in jail. We have girls rescued and restored and their lives turned around. Because what is impossible with man, is possible with God, with God all things are possible.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah you seem to forget the fact that He is sovereign and that He has a will and He is God and King and it just again this is not the gospel and as a result of it, we are not really hearing sound biblical teaching here. This is just pipe dreams.”

Christine Caine, “All things are possible. God is still the God that parts The Red Sea. God is still the God that tears down the walls of Jericho.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah the Red Sea and the walls of Jericho are the obstacles in your life now. That is not how you read The Bible.”

Christine Caine, “God is still the God that makes a way, where there is no way. We will not rationalise God. We will not shrink God. Our God is so big. There is nothing our God cannot do. There is….”

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah the problem is though the God you are describing here isn’t the God of The Bible. It is more like genii God, a big genii God at that who can do the impossible of course. But yeah…”

Christine Caine, “There is nothing our God cannot do and I love this house. Because you have a pastor and a faith that believes that with God all things are possible and we will never shrink God down to our level of experience. We will elevate.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah weird because you have done nothing, but talk about your experiences and you really haven’t preached the biblical text.”

Christine Caine, “We will elevate our lives to come into alignment with the truth of the Word of God and what God declares and decrees, that is what we are going to do.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Declare and decree. Word of Faith heresy talk….”

Christine Caine, “So let me tell you. One of the main reasons most of us give up on the promises of God. You know I am 45. I have been doing this for over two decades. Planted in one church for that long, I love it see when you are in a healthy house. You don’t need to run anywhere else when you find a healthy family.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Still talking about herself…..”

Christine Caine, “When you find a healthy family, you stay in a healthy family. But I have seen people come and go. I have seen people more gifted than me, talented than me. I have seen people walk with the LORD for years, some for ten years. Some….”

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah I am done hearing about this woman. Okay so you know I have got to take a second break. I need to reset the brain here for a second. Take a second break and come back and we will leave Christine Caine and talk about what Ed Young and Steven Furtick said last night at The Code Orange Revival.

Alright so if you would like to email me, regarding anything you heard on this edition or any previous editions of Fighting for the Faith. You can do so my email address talkback@fightingforthefaith.com. You can ask to be my friend on Facebook. It is facebook.com/piratechristian or you can follow me on Twitter. My name there is @piratechristian. We will be right back

Leave a Reply

