Fighting For The Faith With Chris Rosebrough – Joel Osteen: Fake it Until You Make it


Below is a transcript taken from Chris Rosebrough’s radio show podcast Fighting For The Faith Radio podcast which was originally broadcast on Friday May 11th 2013, which you can subscribe to iTunes. I highly recommend you do this if you want to develop discernment. You can also watch Joel Osteen’s Easter sermon on youtube > http://youtu.be/adVcgElG1EI 

Here is the video link for this transcript >  http://youtu.be/_7jlbYBZfrs

Chris Rosebrough, “That is right Joel Osteen update. Sing along if you know it.”

What makes me happy
Fills me up with glee
Those bones in my jaw!
That don’t have a flaw

My shiny teeth and me

My shiny teeth that twinkle
Just like the stars in space
My shiny teeth that sparkle
Adding beauty to my face

My shiny teeth that glisten
Just like a Christmas tree
You know they walk a mile just to see me smile
Woo!
My shiny teeth and me
(shiny teeth shiny teeth)

Yes they are all so perfect

So white and pearly

Brush Gargle Rinse

A couple breath mints

My shiny teeth and me

My shiny teeth so awesome

Just like my favourite song
My shiny teeth I floss them
So they grow to be real strong

My shiny teeth I love them
And they all love me (AhhhAhhh)
Why should I talk to you
When I got 32 (woo)
My shiny teeth and me

Alright that was like my worst rendition of singing along to that song. Anyway Joel Osteen has finally posted his Easter sermon from this year and it is entitled You Have Resurrection Power. See if you can spot the problems with this thing. It is not all that hard to spot. I am really sad that he didn’t get this posted earlier, because I think he would have been a good contender for this year’s worst Easter sermon. Anyway here is Joel Osteen.….

[Crowd cheers]

Joel Osteen, “God bless you today. Such a joy to come into your homes, if you are ever in our area please stop by be a part of one of our services. I promise you we will make you feel right at home. But thanks so much for tuning in and thank you again for coming out today.

And I like to start with something funny and I heard about this man he was on vocation in Jerusalem with his family when his mother in law suddenly died. He went to make arrangements to get her body back home. The consulate said it would cost $5,000 dollars to have her shipped and $150,000 to have her buried right there in Jerusalem. He thought about it a moment, said he would like to have her body shipped back home. Consulate said, ‘Wow you must really have loved your mother in law.’ He said, ‘No it is not so much that. I just remember a case here many years ago when they buried somebody and the third day they arose and I can’t take that chance.’

Hold your Bible up…..”

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah there is a little bit of Easter Sunday humour for you.”

Joel Osteen, “Say it like you mean it. This is my Bible. I am what it says I am…..”

Chris Rosebrough, “This is a competing creed to Christianity by the way. This is not a recognized creed within orthodox historic Christianity. In fact I would say this is absolutely contrary to the orthodox Christian creeds. But we continue…..”

Joel Osteen, “I have what it says I have. I can do what it says I can do. Today I will be taught the Word of God. I boldly confess my mind is alert. My heart is receptive. I will never be the same in Jesus name amen. God bless you.

I want to talk to you today about how you have resurrection power.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Now notice the emphasis on this Easter Sunday sermon here. You have resurrection power. He is not going to talk about Christ’s victorious resurrection from the grave. No we are going to take, I can tell you exactly what he is going to do. He is going to take a half sentence out of context and then build an entire theology on it. It isn’t even a full sentence but let me let him get it out first.”

Joel Osteen, “When you gave your life to Christ. God put a power in you, greater than any other power that you will ever face and we are not supposed to go through life….”

Chris Rosebrough, “Did you notice the wrong emphasis there? He said when you gave your life to Christ. No scripture teaches that Jesus gave His life for me. I didn’t give my life to Jesus. Yeah see this is backwards.”

Joel Osteen, “When you gave your life to Christ. God put a power in you, greater than any other power that you will ever face and we are not supposed to go through life backing down in fear, intimidated, like we are at a disadvantage. This problem is so big. The medical report is so bad or Joel these people are coming against me. They are so much more influential than me. I am no match for them…..”

Chris Rosebrough, “The medical record is bad. These people who are coming against me are so, what are you talking about?”

Joel Osteen, “No Romans 8 v 11 says the same power that raised Christ from the dead lives on the inside of you.

Romans 8 v 11

“The Spirit that raised Christ from the dead lives in you….”

Chris Rosebrough, “Now he didn’t actually quote it. Romans 8, now notice he read v11. Now let me read it to you, the entire verse because he didn’t even give us a full sentence.

Romans 8 v 11 (ESV – English Standard Version)

11 If the Spirit of him who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you,

Notice it starts with ‘if’….

Romans 8 v 11 (ESV – English Standard Version)

11 He who raised Christ Jesus from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through his Spirit who dwells in you.”

And so what is really interesting about the way Joel Osteen quotes this. In fact you can’t see it. But if you were to see the video of this it says

Romans 8 v 11

…The Spirit that raised Christ from the dead lives in you….”

So there is an ellipsis at the front end and at the back end of this. Well when you see it this is a standard quoting you know procedure by the way. If you are quoting something and you leave out a part you put an ellipsis in there to you know make it clear that you are not giving the full quote. But that there is something before and something after and generally people will do that when the stuff in the ellipsis is like a subordinate clause or something that is another point that is being built off the main point and so they will take that out, so that the main point can be followed in a quotation. It is a standard convention if you would.

But again notice what he does here. Let me read it to you again from this television screen. It says….

Romans 8 v 11

…The Spirit that raised Christ from the dead lives in you….

So this Easter sermon from Joel Osteen is based not on an entire sentence. It is based on part of a sentence and the front end of the sentence has been locked off. The back end of the sentence has been locked off. In other words he is not telling you the whole thing. By the way in the front end the dot dot dot that has been you know the thing that has been cut off is the word ‘if’ and then at the back end the entire rest of the verse is missing.

So what we are going to do is we are going to apply our three primary rules for sound biblical exegesis and see if we can make sense of what is going on in this passage so that as we listen to this Easter sermon from Joel Osteen we can determine whether or not he is telling us the truth or if he is well pulling a fast one.

Romans 8 v 1-11 (ESV – English Standard Version)

1 There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus. For the law of the Spirit of life has set you free in Christ Jesus from the law of sin and death. For God has done what the law, weakened by the flesh, could not do. By sending his own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh and for sin, he condemned sin in the flesh, in order that the righteous requirement of the law might be fulfilled in us, who walk not according to the flesh but according to the Spirit. For those who live according to the flesh set their minds on the things of the flesh, but those who live according to the Spirit set their minds on the things of the Spirit. For to set the mind on the flesh is death, but to set the mind on the Spirit is life and peace. For the mind that is set on the flesh is hostile to God, for it does not submit to God’s law; indeed, it cannot. Those who are in the flesh cannot please God.

You, however, are not in the flesh but in the Spirit, if in fact the Spirit of God dwells in you. Anyone who does not have the Spirit of Christ does not belong to him. 10 But if Christ is in you, although the body is dead because of sin, the Spirit is life because of righteousness. 11 If the Spirit of him who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, he who raised Christ Jesus from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through his Spirit who dwells in you.

12 So then, brothers, we are debtors, not to the flesh, to live according to the flesh. 13 For if you live according to the flesh you will die, but if by the Spirit you put to death the deeds of the body, you will live. 14 For all who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God.

So there you go. This is a section that is talking about the difference between you know pursuing the flesh or pursuing the Spirit. Living in the flesh or living in the Spirit and so v11 the entirety of it reads….

Romans 8 v 11 (ESV – English Standard Version)

11 If the Spirit of him who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you, he who raised Christ Jesus from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through his Spirit who dwells in you.

Now that you know the context of what this passage is really talking about. I think it is important to note like I have already noted that Joel Osteen has taken out his x acto knife and lifted out only the words that he wants in order to make the main point of his Easter sermon. We continue….

Joel Osteen, “Most of us believe that Jesus has incredible power. But God turned it around and said I am putting the same power in you. It is a power so strong that death couldn’t keep Him in the grave, a power so strong that all the forces of darkness couldn’t stop it. But here is the key the only way to activate the power is to believe. You can’t go through life thinking, ‘This situation is impossible. I will never accomplish my dreams.’”

Chris Rosebrough, “So I can’t go through life thinking this situation is impossible. I will never accomplish my dreams and you are getting this from Romans 8 v 11? It is as if the reason why you lifted out just that one section is so that you can insert your own theology. That is exactly what he is doing. This is eisegesis. This is not exegesis. This is a butchering and twisting of God’s Word. This passage doesn’t say anything about people feeling like, ‘Oh this situation is impossible or I will never be able to live my dreams.’ No it is not about that at all.”

Joel Osteen, “I have been through too much. That will keep you from your destiny. Have a new perspective.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah you don’t want negative thinking to keep you from achieving and experiencing your destiny.”

Joel Osteen, “You are not weak. You are full of resurrection power. You may have had some bad breaks. But you are not a victim.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Actually no the text doesn’t say that I am full of resurrection power, again listen….

Romans 8 v 11 (ESV – English Standard Version)

11 If the Spirit of him who raised Jesus from the dead dwells in you,

The Spirit, not resurrection power, this would be the Holy Spirit. This is talking about being indwelled by the Holy Spirit not having resurrection power inside of me. You know it is like you know the thing that keeps the energizer bunny going.”

Joel Osteen, “You are a victor. You are not supposed to back down from life. Run from difficulties. Run from things that are hard. No stand your ground and fight the good fight of faith. The reason it is called a good fight is because the enemy has already been defeated. The keys to death and hell have already been taken away. Jesus said, ‘The prince of this world comes…” talking about Satan and he has no power over me. You could say the same thing. The enemy has no power over you.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah what was that passage again. I don’t recall you quoting it in context.”

Joel Osteen, “That sickness cannot stop you. That bad break cannot hold you back.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah you know like that you know cancer. You know maybe you have a brain tumour. That can’t stop you. He said all the way to his grave. Again this sounds like the Christian Science Mary Baker Eddie mind sciences cults kind of stuff.”

Joel Osteen, “Those people can’t keep you from your destiny. There is a power in you.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Notice who this sermon Easter sermon is about. It is about you. This isn’t about Jesus and him being raised from the grave bodily. No this is about you and your destiny and not letting stinking thinking get in the way of your destiny and you know and letting the report from the doctor you know get in the way of your destiny. Because you have got resurrection power inside of you and yet Romans 8 v 11 says that you have the Spirit dwelling in you.”

Joel Osteen, “There is a power in you. That is no match for any power that tries to stop you. Now all through the day this should be playing in our mind. I am powerful. I am strong. I am well able.”

Chris Rosebrough, “I am a sinner. I have sinned. I am in need of Christ forgiveness Is that what you mean? Notice the I here, ‘I am powerful. I am this. I am that.’ Yeah this sounds a lot like you know the devils monologue from The Book of Isaiah.”

Joel Osteen, “I will not fear. I will not back down. I will not run and hide. I am not intimidated.”

Chris Rosebrough, “You won’t back down. Uh oh I feel a Fighting For The Faith gratuitous musical interlude coming on.”

Tom Petty – I Won’t Back Down

Well I won’t back down, no I won’t back down
You could stand me up at the gates of hell
But I won’t back down

Chris Rosebrough, “It is weird. It as if Joel Osteen got his theology from Tom Petty.”

Tom Petty, “Gonna stand my ground, won’t be turned around

And I’ll keep this world from dragging me down
Gonna stand my ground and I won’t back down

[Chorus:]
Hey baby, there ain’t no easy way out
Hey I will stand my ground
And I won’t back down…..”

Chris Rosebrough, “Alright enough of that, back to the sermon, sorry just needed to do that. You can’t just take a throwaway line like that and not go into a gratuitous musical interlude. We continue…..”

Joel Osteen, “I am not a victim. I am not at a disadvantage. I am full of resurrection power. Well you say, ‘Joel I don’t feel very powerful. I don’t feel very strong.’ But you can’t go by what you feel. You have got to go by what you know. Your feelings may change every other hour, and what you are up against may look bigger stronger, more influential, more powerful. That is okay. The bigger they are, the harder they fall. You have an advantage. It is called resurrection power and even though you may not feel powerful, you have got to put your shoulders back and start acting like you are powerful. Fake it until you make it.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Really that is well that is the best advice I have ever heard during an Easter sermon. You need to fake it, until you make it. That is going to be the name of this episode of Fighting For The Faith. Just saying oh man….”

Joel Osteen, “Act like you are strong, act like you are well able, act like you are more than a conqueror. Don’t go through life intimidated, when you have the most powerful force in the universe on the inside.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah I have got resurrection power on the inside. I think you get what is going on. The irony about listening to a Joel Osteen sermon is once you have heard the first five minutes of any Joel Osteen you have actually heard the whole thing. So you have pretty much heard it all and you know the idea here, ‘You have got resurrection power. You are undefeatable and if you don’t believe it. You need to fake it until you make it.’

Yeah that is some crazy preaching for Easter Sunday, because he is not preaching about Jesus. He is preaching about you and somebody who is preaching about you especially on Easter Sunday, any Sunday really. But it stands out like a saw thumb on Easter Sunday. That person is not telling you the truth and they are not really pointing you to Christ. They are pointing you to yourself and the thing you have got to do to save yourself.

That is really what this is all about. You believing the right positive things and then thereby saving yourself. That is not biblical Christianity folks. That is something completely different and the reason why he snipped out that little one sentence from The Bible is so that he can make it say, whatever he wanted it to say and he succeeded. He succeed in making it say whatever he wanted it to say. But the problem is that anybody with a half a brain knows you can’t tell the truth about the Word of God via snippets of God’s Word out of context and strung together. Crazy stuff!

So what do you think? I would love to get your feedback. If you would like to email me regarding anything you have heard on this edition or any previous editions of Fighting For The Faith. You can do so my email address is talkback@fightingforthefaith.com or you can subscribe on Facebook – facebook.com/piratechristian or follow me on Twitter my name there is @piratechristian.

Leave a Reply

