Fighting For The Faith With Chris Rosebrough – Steven Furtick’s Non Lucid Contradictory Statements and his Narcigesis of The Resurrection of Jesus Christ in Mark 16


Below is a transcript taken from Chris Rosebrough’s radio show podcast Fighting For The Faith Radio podcast which was originally broadcast on Tuesday April 9th 2013, which you can subscribe to iTunes. I highly recommend you do this if you want to develop discernment. You can also listen to Steven Furtick’s sermon mp3 – In•fin•8, The Greatest Story Forever Told (Part 8)  by subscribing to his church podcast: Elevation Church:: Charlotte, NC.

[First Segment – 00:11:56 – 00:13:23]

Here is the video link > http://youtu.be/DnHDz2ssNCU

Chris Rosebrough, “So let’s talk about what we are going to do on Today’s edition of Fighting For The Faith. We have got two segments in this first hour and I hope we can get to both of them. The first is we are going to take a look at Steven Furtick’s contradictory statements that he made during this year’s Easter sermon at Elevation church and his contradictory statements make it clear to me that Furtick is aware of the charge against him of narcissistic eisegesis.

And so he is trying to find a way to stave off, blunt, you know protect himself from the charge and so he makes statements in the sermon and then contradicts himself or actually he starts off doing the opposite of what he says The Bible is about. Yeah I will just have to play it for you. I am doing a horrible job of explaining it. So we are going to be taking a look at Steven Furtick’s contradictory statements from his Easter sermon this year and what is interesting is that his sermon I listened to it in its entirety. It is a mixed bag. It starts off horribly and then it ends off kind of okay. You know Jesus does come into it and his theology is okay and so as a result of that he doesn’t make it into this year’s contest. But I want to play for you the opening bad parts because it is crazy and he contradicts himself in this sermon which is kind of weird.

[Second Segment – 00:14:17 – 00:50:57/58]

Chris Rosebrough, “Since we are doing a Steven Furtick update, it requires me to do this.

[Plays intro music for Steven Furtick]

You walked up to the pulpit,

Like you were a man of God
Your hair strategically cut to the new style
That Bieber was making hot
You had one eye on the camera as you watched the crowd applaud
All of the pastors dreamed that you’d be their mentor, You’d be their mentor and…

You’re so vain, you probably think the Bible’s about you
You’re so vain, I bet you think the Bible’s about you
Don’t you, Don’t you?

You fooled me several years ago,
When I was just a baby sheep
Well you told me we were made to serve
And my tithe was all you’d need
But you twisted up the Bible so no one else had said a peep
I was afraid, then I heard the real  gospel, heard the real gospel, and…

You’re so vain, you probably think the Bible’s about you
You’re so vain, I bet you think the Bible’s about you
Don’t you, Don’t you?

Alright so Steven Furtick of Elevation church came who we will be talking about a couple of times this week and his Easter sermon he actually really contradicted himself. I think he is aware of the fact that the main criticism against him is he preaches about himself from every biblical passage. So he is trying to make an effort to well preach about Jesus. Hang on I have got to kill this music.

Alright and so he is trying to make an effort to well fight off this thing, apparently it is sticking. A lot of people are noting the fact that Steven Furtick has this funny propensity to turn any passage of scripture, even the ones about Jesus into a passage about himself or you or anybody else other than Jesus and so he engages in what we call here at Fighting For The Faith narcigesis. That would be narcissistic eisegesis. Two words squished together. He is the king of the narcigetes.

So he is trying to well fix his reputation if you would and but the problem is that he is only doing it by claiming, well let’s put it this way he will say verbally, “Listen The Bible is all about Jesus.” But then he makes it about himself and you and other people. Okay let me give you something what that is akin to. You ever heard of the phrase, “Lip service?” Yes he is doing lip service to the idea that The Bible is about Jesus, although he is making some effort in his sermons to at least weave Jesus and make Jesus the head of the stories.

But in fact his entire sermon series that he has been working through Infin8, it is this mixed bag. One the one hand he will say it is about Jesus. Make a big point hullabaloo about it and then part of his sermon is always dedicated to making the story about you and so he is like talking out of both sides of his mouth. It is well it is another form of cognitive dissonance and so here is in fact here is an example of a statement that Furtick made from his Easter sermon. So listen in this is him saying The Bible is about well Jesus. But then this is totally against what he did in the opening part of his sermon. Listen.

Steven Furtick, “Now if there is one thing we have learned in this series looking at seven of the greatest stories and all of scripture it is that every passage of The Bible and every page, every plot points to a metanarrative and a main character that is bigger. It all points to Jesus.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Alright so he says it. Okay now the problem is that he ain’t practicing what he preaches here. It all points to Jesus. It is all about Jesus. Okay this would be like me saying, “You know listen. You know I totally think that formal caboodlating is a sin you shouldn’t be doing. Okay yeah you that formal caboodlating that is some bad stuff and then you find out that I am formal caboodlating. You know so what about all that talk about you saying formal caboodlating is wrong.

Well you yeah you don’t do lip service to a concept. Especially you don’t do lip service to the idea that The Bible is about Jesus. There is in fact you can’t do lip service to it without being caught because people pay attention and they notice these things and so let’s listen to the first you know maybe eight to ten minutes of Steven Furtick’s Easter sermon called Infin8, the greatest story forever told and see if you can see who he makes the biblical passage of Jesus resurrection from The Gospel of Mark about. Here is Steven Furtick…..”

Steven Furtick, “Now I want to read to you from Mark 16 v 1-7. I would like to ask you in this short time we have together today that as I present the greatest story forever told that you would not just observe, but or think about it or try to remember it because you may know it already. But just enter into it and by entering into the elements of this story I think there are new and fresh things God wants to speak to each of us and do inside of each us today.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Quick question how do I enter into the story that is recorded in The Gospels? How do I enter into it? That statement doesn’t make any sense. You remember Gumby? You know the, I am not talking about Monty Pythons Gumby you know that guy. No not that Gumby but Gumby the little green ball of clay guy right. You remember he would have this ability to like walk into any book and then be in the story.

I am not Gumby and neither are you. So when somebody says to me something like you know, “Enter into the story.” The first question that comes to my mind is well I am not Gumby.” How am I supposed to do that? That doesn’t make any sense. How am I supposed to enter into a story that has already occurred especially a historical narrative, this isn’t some fictional tale. This is a historical narrative recording for me things that occurred in real time and space history. We continue…..”

Steven Furtick, “So we will begin with the text here in Mark’s Gospel. The Bible says

Mark 16 v 1-2 (NIV – New International Version)

1 When the Sabbath was over, Mary Magdalene, Mary the mother of James, and Salome bought spices so that they might go to anoint Jesus’ body. Very early on the first day of the week, just after sunrise, they were on their way to the tomb.”

I want to read a little bit more because the really good part is coming. But I like to stop if we are going to call this the greatest story forever told. We have got to look at the setting. Because a great story has to have a great setting, so you could just skip over this part or you could take a look at the specific details of the setting. On the surface there doesn’t seem to be anything spectacular about this setting. You got some women. Let’s hear from the women [women in the audience cheer], who are going to perform a ritual on the body of Jesus. The Bible says that it was when the Sabbath was over, now the Sabbath the Saturday. So this is Sunday, Easter Sunday and holy week had started on a Sunday, the Sunday before this Sunday.

Now if you count with me I want to show you something. Jesus came riding into Jerusalem to be crucified, to begin holy week on Sunday, that is the first day. Now let’s count. Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday. Six is the number of man in The Bible, any time you see it, it is the number of man. It is an incomplete number.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Now this is true. Okay don’t think that Steven Furtick is going all William Tapley. What he just said is absolutely true. That is correct. The number six in The Bible is the number of man.”

Steven Furtick, “He was crucified on Friday, silent on Saturday. We have learned in this church that seven is the number of perfection – completion.”

Chris Rosebrough, “This is correct as well. It is like as I was listening to this for the first time I was going, “Alright somebody sent that boy some theology books.” Nice okay and then we get to the number eight. Watch what he does with it, it is subtle but it is wrong.”

Steven Furtick, “We have learned in this church that seven is the number of perfection – completion all throughout The Bible. But then one thing I wanted to tell you this Easter day is that eight any time you see it in The Bible is the number of new beginnings. So that might seem like an insignificant…..”

Chris Rosebrough, “Now technically that is right. Eight is the number of the new creation. Okay new beginnings and new creation are two completely different things. Okay by saying it is the number of new beginnings he is now going to narcigete the numerology from this gospel text. Let me back it up so that you can hear it.”

Steven Furtick, “Eight any time you see it in The Bible is the number of new beginnings. So that might seem like an insignificant detail to you. But is it a coincidence? Let me help you out. No that the day they discovered that Jesus was no longer in the tomb was on the first day of the new week which was the eighth day after he rode into Jerusalem, signifying that our God is a God of new beginnings. Not just a……”

Chris Rosebrough, “No wrong, signifying that our God is a God of new beginnings. Yeah I mean seriously. You know what that is like, okay let me kind of give you an example of what this is like. You all familiar with the Olympics right? You ever watched like the hundred yard dash right. This is the equivalent of somebody doing a hundred yard dash in competition and getting off the block first. Sprinting down you know the track and literally being two, three, four you know lengths ahead of everybody.

Okay and then literally ten yards before the finish line, he falls on his face, does a face plant. Both of his feet are in the air and just comes to a skidding careening crashing halt and then doesn’t even finish. I mean it is or it is kind of like you know if you have a stick ship. I love cars with stick ships. Although I don’t currently own one, that is my I love manual transmission. But it is like taking your car, putting it into first and then starting. Okay put the clutch in, put it in second, and then you put the clutch in, put it in third and then you put the clutch in and then you put it in reverse. Bad things happen. So yeah no eight is not the number of new beginnings, it is the number of the new creation. Signifying that Jesus is the first born of a new creation, not that they discovered oh wow on the day that – God is a God of new beginnings, excuse me well like crash my face into the ground.”

Steven Furtick, “Eight any time you see it in The Bible is the number of new beginnings. So that might seem like an insignificant detail to you. But is it a coincidence? Let me help you out. No that the day they discovered that Jesus was no longer in the tomb was on the first day of the new week which was the eighth day after he rode into Jerusalem, signifying that our God is a God of new beginnings. Not just a God to be idolized in the past. But a God who is able to make a new beginning today.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Okay got to back it up. What was that? Hang on…..”

Steven Furtick, ““Eight any time you see it in The Bible is the number of new beginnings. So that might seem like an insignificant detail to you. But is it a coincidence? Let me help you out. No, that the day they discovered that Jesus was no longer in the tomb was on the first day of the new week which was the eighth day after he rode into Jerusalem, signifying that our God is a God of new beginnings. Not just a God who is to be idolized in the past, but a God who is able to make a new beginning today.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Not just a God who is to be idolized in the past. What is the cash value of that sentence? Yeah you better not be idolizing God in the past. Huh what? What are you talking about? I believe in the one true. The one true God if you worship and believe in Him, you can’t idolize Him. An idol is a false god. He is the one true God. That doesn’t make any sense. You know we continue…..,”

Steven Furtick, “That is awesome everybody say awesome. The Bible is so cool. But here is something that to me is even more relatable. It says in v2.

Mark 16 v 2 (NIV – New International Version)

That it was very early on the first day of the week,

Very early if we are reading The Bible in the original language, it was written and we would see specifically it was between 3:00am and 6:00am. Now the technical term for that is it sucks to be alive time. That is what I call 3:00am to 6:00am. Don’t look at me all stiff like you never say sucks. It is Easter, but I am going to talk real……”

Chris Rosebrough, “And now Steven Furtick will launch into his story about his life. Telling you who he is really preaching. So apparently that little detail in The Bible well that he is going to narcigete himself in the time of the morning when the women went to the tomb.”

Steven Furtick, “It is Easter, but I am going to talk real. I hate the morning. How many of you are morning people? Raise your hand if you are morning person. Morning people raise your hand. I respect you. I honour you. I don’t understand you. I have nothing in common with you. If you are the other kind of person like me, raise your hand. If you are this kind of person, if you are I will kill the person who just raised their hand, I will cut them and watch them bleed out, if they look at me the wrong way before I have had my appropriate caffeine intake. Raise your hand if that is you. That is me. You know one of the ways that I knew that me and Holly were meant to be together, was after our wedding night…..”

Chris Rosebrough, “And how does your wedding night factor into the story of the empty tomb? I am just not making that connection in my mind here.”

Steven Furtick, “I am going to leave that alone. But the morning, I didn’t mean for it to dip to that place. Real quick you all have some real horrible people is what you are just thinking. But the day after our wedding we had to buy one of those plane tickets. We stayed locally after the wedding. You are not tired you are after the planning of the wedding, all of the details.

Shut up let me tell this story. So we wake up and we had to buy one of those plane tickets to go catch the cruise ship, where when you can’t afford to buy a real plane ticket where you tell them what time you want to leave. You have got to tell them how much you will pay and then after you pay. You click the button and it is like [sound effect]. Your plane is leaving at kill yourself o’ clock in the morning. That is what time your plane is leaving. So we found out we had to get up at like four or five in the morning and we had both been awake. This how I knew she was the one for me. I mean in many ways I knew because she is beautiful and godly and sexy and all that. But one of the ways that God confirmed it is we have both been awake for twenty minutes.…..”

Chris Rosebrough, “He sure does like talking about himself doesn’t he?”

Steven Furtick, “Neither of us had spoken a word to one another and after twenty minutes she breaks the silence. She looks at me. She goes, “You don’t like to talk in the morning either?” And I said, “No I hate it.” In fact this conversation right now is kind of getting on my nerves and she went, you know the truth about it. She looked at me and said, “You are my soul mate.” And we knew we were meant for each other. Because 3:00am to 6:00am that is the worst possible time is here is why, it is too late to go back to bed. But God knows it is too early for me to be awake. Let me get an amen from the second group one more time. [Crowd says amen]

Why did God choose to send these women out on their journey to discover that the body of Jesus was no longer in the tomb, but between 3:00am and 6:00am? Here is what I think He was saying, “It is the end of one day and the beginning of another.”

Chris Rosebrough, [Laughs], “This is almost like a William Tapley esque detail. Okay and trust me when I tell you. It is going to get worse. It is going to get like way worse.”

Steven Furtick, “Let me try it another way. You didn’t respond like I wanted you to. Only our God is so skilled at writing a story that He can make the conclusion, the introduction.”

Chris Rosebrough, “What? Okay….”

Steven Furtick, “And that is what He does in our lives.”

Chris Rosebrough, “He does because the women went to the tomb and between 3:00am and 6:00am in the morning that means that God is capable of making the conclusion, the introduction and that is what He does in our lives. Notice anything wrong with that like you know it is not even lucid. That is like one of those sentences like blue sleeps faster than Tuesday. It doesn’t make any sense and everyone is sitting there going, “Oh we have got to tweet that out.” I mean you tweet that out and your family members who follow you on Twitter are going to think, “Uh oh you know Becky has been hitting the bong again.”

Steven Furtick, “And see you maybe at 3:00am in your life today. You maybe buried in the ground of circumstances.”

Chris Rosebrough, “I maybe at 3:00am in my life today. Listen I was at 3:00am earlier today at 3:00am you know what I remember about 3:00am? Nothing I was asleep. Jesus died on the cross and rose from the grave to save you from 3:00am-ness, what does this mean?”

Steven Furtick, “And see you maybe at 3:00am in your life today. You maybe buried in the ground of circumstances. Maybe you lost a relationship already this year and maybe somebody left you that was supposed to never leave you.”

Chris Rosebrough, “So if somebody leaves you it is 3:00am in the morning? So now he completely allegorized the time when the women went to the tomb and we have narcissistically stuck ourselves into the story now. Because apparently I mean had no idea that because the women went to the tomb, sometime between 3:00am in the morning and 6:00am in the morning that means that God is about to save me from the 3:00am’s in my life, what is this?”

Steven Furtick, “Maybe somebody left you because of a physical illness and they had no choice or maybe you lost a job. Maybe you have lost some time. Maybe you have lost some strength. Maybe you have lost some hope. Maybe you lost an opportunity. Maybe you blew something. But we are in the greatest story forever told. When at 3:00am when you are stumbling in the darkness wondering is there any hope to this? God turns that situation into a resurrection.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Oh brother seriously, what didn’t he say? I played the quote for you. The Bible is about Jesus. Is he making this text about Jesus? Not at all, so now we are finding every little errant detail William Tapley style at that. I mean seriously Steve do you actually like watch sporting events and look for numerological prophetic significance the way that William Tapley does? This is preposterous. This is absolutely hermeneutically absurd. It is not even lucid thinking.”

Steven Furtick, “Isn’t He good? In fact when Jesus said on the cross in John 19 v 30 when He stretched His arms and they gave Him vinegar to drink and they put a robe on Him and mocked Him because He was the King of the Jews and they twisted a crown of thorns on his head and then they gave Him a sponge and as He drank the vinegar, He uttered these words.

John 19 v 30 (NIV – New International Version)

30 He said, “It is finished.”

He wasn’t saying He was done. He was making an announcement. Everything that needs to be accomplished has been accomplished and now my saving work can begin. Because God……”

Chris Rosebrough, “Now my saving working can begin? Is this opposite day? Have you ever played that game with your kids where every day is opposite day so you know, my kids would do this to me. It drove me nuts when they would play opposite day with me. It is like they came home from school and my son would punch me on the arm and go, “I hate you dad.” And I would go, “What?” And he would go, “Oh it is opposite day.” Oh okay I get it.

Maybe this is like Steven Furtick’s way of playing a game with us. It is opposite day. You know because when Jesus has His arms stretched out on the cross and He cries out, Tetelestai Τετέλεσται “It is finished.” That means that His saving work can begin. So endings are beginnings and beginnings are endings and up is down and down is up. Because of the 3:00am’s in your life that you can be rescued from because the women went to go put spices on Jesus at 3:00am or somewhere between 3:00am and 6:00am. We are not sure which, probably closer to six and three. But you know it is hard to tell.”

Steven Furtick, “Because God turns endings into new beginnings. But that is not my sermon. That is just the setting.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Okay so that is not the sermon. That is just the setting. Can’t wait to hear the sermon, we continue….”

Steven Furtick, “I had to get that out of the way because now we have got to get to the action. I mean it is no good to have a great setting if you don’t have some action. We need some action. This is healing for us falling. Get out while you can. We need some action.

Mark 16 v 2-3 (NIV – New International Version)

Very early on the first day of the week, just after sunrise,

they were on their way to the tomb and they asked each other,

Here comes a conflict….

Mark 16 v 3 (NIV – New International Version)

3“Who will roll the stone away from the entrance of the tomb?

Every great story needs a great conflict. You don’t to watch a movie about a guy who……”

Chris Rosebrough, “Okay no serious. Okay the story you know that little detail about the stone being there. That is not the conflict. Okay yeah far from it. That is just an incidental detail. Okay if we are going to talk about the setting and the conflict and stuff like that. You have to roll back up into the bigger thing. What is the conflict that The Gospel’s are addressing? Answer it is the conflict that began in the garden of Eden. The conflict between Satan and God that we have now found ourselves caught up in the middle of because we rebelled against God and so the conflict has to do with God coming to earth, born of the virgin Mary and now crucified by us. Okay if in fact listen those people who say things to the effect of, “It is those Jews who killed Jesus or it is the Romans who killed Jesus.” None of that is true. We killed Jesus, you did it. Your sin is why He is on the cross.

So don’t be going and blaming other people. So the conflict itself has come to a conclusion with Christ’s death on the cross because His death is His victory over Satan, death, and the devil which is then seen with Christ victorious resurrection from the grave. That is what is going on here. So all you are taking a little detail here at the end of The Gospel of Mark. You know oh there is a stone in front of His tomb. No kidding that is how they did it back then and there was a good reason why you would do such a thing and it has something to do with making it so that a body can decompose in peace. You know it would take about a year.

In fact what they would do back then during the second temple period, they would take a dead body, lay it out on a stone slab inside of a basically rock – cut of rock hewn tomb. The body would stay there for about a year. Maybe a little bit longer and do its decomposing work and the stone there protected the body from being you know being eaten by you know animals and you know rogue scavengers and things like that so it can decompose in peace and also it protected provided a barrier for odour. Okay because a decomposing human bodies. There is probably few smells that are worse on planet earth than that.

So this idea that the stone is in front of the tomb, that is not conflict and the fact that you think that is conflict tells me you don’t understand anything about how stories work. Let me back this up. We continue…..”

Steven Furtick,Mark 16 v 3 (NIV – New International Version)

3“Who will roll the stone away from the entrance of the tomb?”

Every great story needs a great conflict. You don’t to watch a movie about a guy who wants a Volvo, so he buys one. Need some conflict, need the Volvo to catch on fire. He is rolling down the street you know. Need some action you know. So here is the conflict of the story, who will roll the tomb away? Now this tomb we are talking about is the stone set in front of the door of the cave where they laid the body of Jesus, weighs about two hundred and fifty pounds.

Much too large for these women to move. Now if it had been some men they wouldn’t have made a plan, at least these women are planning. They are on their way. Somebody has got to move this stone. Let’s start talking about it. Let’s start figuring out how this is going to go down. Because they are on their way to do something, they are going to anoint the body of Jesus. They have got oil and spices and they have got a job to do. But who is going to roll the stone? So now they are doing the thing that they set out to do, but they have got an obstacle in the way that is bigger than them. I wonder who has a stone standing in your way today?”

Chris Rosebrough, “Oh my I mean this is just the cliché narcissistic Bible twisting of the resurrection. How many of you have a stone today that you need rolled away? Gag me serious. I mean this is so vapid and silly it is not even funny.”

Steven Furtick, “I wonder who has a stone standing in your way today? A stone you can’t move, a conflict you can’t resolve, a relationship you can’t restore. Who will roll the stone away? It is a good question you know.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah because you know I need to experience a resurrection for my dreams man. Because you know I have always wanted to be a hand model and there is a stone in my way that makes it so that I can’t be a hand model and so I need Jesus to come and roll this stone away and resurrect my dead dream.”

Steven Furtick, “You came to church. You want to look for God. You want more passion in your walk with God. But there is this thing in my way I can’t move. There is this addiction that I have always dealt with it is too big for me. Been in my family for a long time, who is going to break this addiction? This addiction to drugs?”

Chris Rosebrough, “So he is literally narcigeting the stone.

Steven Furtick, “This addiction to drugs, alcohol, eating, gossip. This depression, this sadness, this sorrow, who is going to move it away? And so now these women have met an immovable object and it is too big for them and it is too strong for them. But watch Mark 16 v 4 critical climax of the plot of the story. The scripture says….

Mark 16 v 4 (NIV – New International Version)

But when they looked up,

Everybody say look up

Mark 16 v 4 (NIV – New International Version)

4 When they looked up, they saw that the stone, which was very large, had been rolled away.

Chris Rosebrough, “Yeah and the reason for that was because Jesus had been raised from the grave. The stone doesn’t signify anything. I mean absolutely nothing in your life, zip zero nought. Low it doesn’t matter which language you are speaking. Not one thing is signified in your life as a result of the fact that the stone was rolled away. This is the historical account, the narrative of Jesus real in time and space resurrection from the grave. The stone doesn’t symbolize nothing about you or me.”

Steven Furtick, “So here is what we are saying, God got to the tomb before they did and did they what they couldn’t do and if there is something you can’t do that is keeping you from God today. You need to know that He already moved the barrier. So here is the word…..”

Chris Rosebrough, “Really so I need to know that God has already moved the barrier, because if you came to church today and you have got a stone in front of you man that is you keeping you from you know experiencing some things. Then you need to know that well God already showed up man and yeah that stone totally gone man. Because you know like Mark 16 man, just read the passage and you will see dude.”

Steven Furtick, “Don’t let a barrier keep you from coming to God, that God Himself has already removed. He has already broken the power of addiction, if you will trust Him. Now if you go trying to move the stone on your own. You can’t move it…..”

Chris Rosebrough, “Only if you are a woman. You just said that guys wouldn’t have thought about something like that. Dudes could have moved it.”

Steven Furtick, “But what you could never do in a life time of trying, God wants you to trust that He has already done, here it is he has already made a way. He has already provided deliverance. He is already stronger than your struggle and the stone was rolled away. Why aren’t you happy? This means you don’t have to stay at a distance from God’s purpose for your life, because of something you can’t accomplish.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Really you got all of that. I mean wait a second you got all of that from like the fact that the women between 3:00am and 6:00am and there was a stone and it was already moved. Talk about missing the forest, because of a tree.”

Steven Furtick, “Heaven answers your I can’t with a resounding God did.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Uh huh right and you got all that from a stone. Right this is rock theology.”

Steven Furtick, “That is Easter……”

Chris Rosebrough, “No it is not…..”

Steven Furtick, “That is Easter……”

Chris Rosebrough, “No really it has nothing to do with Easter. Easter is not about stones being rolled away, it is about Christ being raised from the grave.”

Steven Furtick, “And when they looked up they saw it. Oh the thing we were so worried about not being able to do has already been done. The thing we could never move, the thing we could never break, the chains we could never escape. They have already been unlocked by the power of God.”

Chris Rosebrough, “This is utter nonsense. Now just a few minutes after that portion of this quote sermon that is when he made said these words. Listen again….”

Steven Furtick, “Now if there is one thing we have learned in this series looking at seven of the greatest stories and all of scripture it is that every passage of The Bible on every page, every plot points to a metanarrative and a main character that is bigger. It all points to Jesus.”

Chris Rosebrough, “Right and you just pointed me to the time and day and made it about me, you pointed to a rock, a stone that had been rolled away and made it about me. Good night. So even on the one hand Steven Furtick is aware of the criticism that he is receiving for his narcissistic eisegesis. I don’t think he can help himself. I mean this is almost like listening to a crazy person.

I mean this is so non-lucid and completely and utterly contradictory. That I fear that the folks at Elevation church, having prolonged exposure to this kind of nonsense where black is white, up is down, new is old and you know all that and what he says you know, “It is all about Jesus,” and then makes it all about you that at the end of this. What we are literally seeing happen is the ability for people to well lose the ability to no longer think cognitively. This prolonged exposure to a Steven Furtick sermon or sermons could cause you to inadvertently become spiritually lobotomized. Good night.

It is all about Jesus, but then it is all about me. Huh okay yeah that makes perfect sense in a world upside down, inside out and where up is down and down is up. You know as for me I am just going to go with the clear teaching of the Word of God. Those are little minor details that setup the big detail that Jesus actually rose from the grave. That is what is. Yeah that stone was not a conflict that somehow symbolizes anything in your life and who cares what time in the morning it went. Again it doesn’t symbolize anything in your life. They are the ones who lived this. That is why they recorded it.

Huh anyway we are up on our first and only break today. If you would like to email me regarding anything you have heard on this edition or any previous editions of Fighting For The Faith you can do so my email address is talkback@fightingforthefaith.com or you can subscribe on Facebook – www.facebook.com/piratechristian or follow me on Twitter. My name there @piratechristian.

Leave a Reply

