Wretched Radio With Todd Friel – Joyce Meyer Speaks Word of Faith Nonsense Into Being and T.D. Jakes Weird Ideas About Forgiveness


The following is a transcript segment taken from a Wretched Radio Show podcast that was originally broadcast on Tuesday October 9th 2012. If you want to listen to the full mp3 it is called WR2012-1009-Hr2 and you can download it from http://www.wretchedradio.com. You just need to subscribe to the Wretched Radio podcasts at http://www.wretchedradio.com. If you would like the mp3, just give me your email address and I can send you the mp3.

Todd Friel, “Hey speaking of Lutherans. Joyce Meyer this is pretty cool Tony.

Tony Verkinnes, “Hey careful there.”

Todd Friel, “I am sorry I have got, wait no she is not

Lutheran at all. Not even good enough.”

Tony Verkinnes, “Not even close.”

Todd Friel, “You know why that would be good?”

Tony Verkinnes, “Why?”

Todd Friel, “She would stop preaching because she is usurping. “I have a grandson writes Joyce Meyer who is three years old.” Okay can I tell you a little peccadillo among mine of many others, any time an article begins with the word I typicallyI just go delete and that is all if you are so centred on self that the only perspective that you can offer is to use the personal pronoun “I” to start your story. I am not interested you probably don’t have much to offer and I was proven right with this article by Joyce Meyer. You Are What You Speak.”

Joyce Meyer, “I have a grandson who is three years old. He recently got a hold of a sheet of paper that had pictures of me on it, and he decorated it with all sorts of colourful stickers. I couldn’t help but notice that in just about every picture though there was a sticker over my mouth. I thought: Well, God, are You trying to tell me something?”

Todd Friel, “Now normally I do not like to interpret signs we only interpret the Bible. But in this case Joyce I would say yes Joyce yes go with that feeling. I think he is trying to tell you something. Go with that feeling.”

Joyce Meyer, “I want to share with you how our words impact the anointing―that is, the power and presence of God in our life. The power……”

Todd Friel, “You see I thought that was the Holy Spirit, confused….”

Joyce Meyer, “The power of God is the most precious thing we have….”

Todd Friel, “Oh is that right? I thought Jesus was the most precious thing.”

Tony Verkinnes, “You see I knew it was that one.”

Todd Friel, “Yeah it is something. I am glad.”

Joyce Meyer, “It’s something we need to know how to protect. One of the ways we can do damage to God’s anointing is by…..”

Todd Friel, “Sinning? No.”

Joyce Meyer, “It is by speaking with a mixture of faith and doubt. We’ll say a few positive, faith-filled words here, and a few negative, doubtful words there. This weakens God’s anointing on our life.”

Todd Friel, “In case you are wondering is Joyce Meyer Word of Faith? Answer yes.”

Tony Verkinnes, “Yes.”

Todd Friel, “Yes she is.”

Joyce Meyer, “If we want to have God’s power working in us and through us on a daily basis, then we have to be in agreement with God―not just part of the time, but all of the time.”

Todd Friel, “Uh oh you know what I am starting to feel here with this whole deal.”

Tony Verkinnes, “Crazy?”

Todd Friel, “Well yeah that but also just the amount of work that it takes to be a Christian. Works do, do, do.”

Joyce Meyer, “Without the anointing everything is hard. Here a few ways you can use words to protect God’s anointing on your life….”

Todd Friel, “Here you go Tony you might want to write some more things for you to do to make sure that you are Christian walk is what it should be.”

Joyce Meyer, “Do not judge other people. For example, if you want God’s anointing to be on you for parenting, you need to be careful not to criticize other parents.”

Todd Friel, “Oh it feels like a little con going on to me. I thought it was because it would be a sin. See that is what I thought. Huh.”

Joyce Meyer, “I encourage you to form a habit of speaking positive words of faith every single day.”

Todd Friel, “Well I decree and declare. She has sounded a lot like every other Word of Faith teacher.”

Joyce Meyer, “Words like, “I love my life and I have a great future. I can twist all Bible verses through Christ who strengthens me. And something good is going to happen to me today. Even when you’re struggling to believe it, say it anyway. Our words have the power to change our mind and our attitude and shape our future.”

Todd Friel, “Now see this is odd because I thought that our feelings and our words were driven by our knowledge. Joyce is saying no change your words and you will change the way you think.”

Tony Verkinnes, “Is that the old fake it until you make it kind of thing?”

Todd Friel, “TD Jakes has a brand new book out. That is always very exciting. Yeah I am sure it is a good one. It is about forgiveness. Hey I think that is a good thing. He appeared on The Steve Harvey Programme to teach us all a little something about how to mangle The Bible to pieces so that you can become really I am sorry it is about forgiveness.”

[Plays audio sound clip]

Steve Harvey, “What is the process to forgiveness? How do you start the process to forgive?”

T.D. Jakes, “I think it is just the same thing you would do with the counting. You have to balance the books.”

Todd Friel, “Oh….”

T.D. Jakes, “You have to come to a conclusion about your life…..”

Todd Friel, “Uh huh….”

T.D. Jakes, “…..Or you are going to be miserable all of your life and in the process of balancing the books.”

Todd Friel, “I have got to do that too alright.”

T.D. Jakes, “You have to get an understanding not only of your situation because a lot of times unforgiveness is a very selfish thing. It is based on what happened to you.”

Todd Friel, “Now that is funny now I am kind of kooky. I know I am kind of out there but I thought I forgive because I have been forgiven much. Now that would be a good accounting. I have sinned more against God than anybody has sinned against me therefore I am happy to forgive because wow in comparison to what that person did to me I killed Jesus. I can handle that accounting. This accounting…..”

T.D. Jakes, “You also have to understand that this person may not be able to give you what they didn’t have.”

Todd Friel, “I see…..”

T.D. Jakes, “Just because you wanted it….”

Todd Friel, “Uh huh…..”

T.D. Jakes, “And even had a right to get it. Doesn’t mean that I have it in the warehouse of my personality to complete the end of it to your need. You understand what I am saying?”

Todd Friel, “Yes I understand.”

[Elephant Sound]

 Todd Friel, “Who played that sound? That was some good teaching there if you don’t listen to anything The Bible says. Hey are you harbouring a grudge? Are you maybe still bitter toward somebody? Might I encourage you to do the heavy lifting of top shelf Christianity which is really going to the foundation of our faith. You have been forgiven so much. Now how do I know you have been forgiven so much? Well the cross tattled on you. It tells me that you just like I am a very bad sinner. How do I know? Well Jesus had to die for you. That is a hint. Remember that, remember the first part of your gospel. You are a bad sinner. Your sins killed Jesus. Now the things that people have done to you, yeah bad, painful even. Right but maybe just maybe with the perspective that your sins against Jesus have so much more egregious by comparison, maybe just maybe you can find it to forgive them because you have been forgiven. That is the gospel. Until tomorrow go serve your King.”

Leave a Reply

