Newfrontiers Vision & Values | 2f. The Final Authority of Scripture: Developing Preaching -Part 2 | By Terry Virgo & Simon Virgo


[Transcript of Video]

The Final Authority of Scripture

Watch the video here > http://www.vimeo.com/17182866

2f. Developing preaching part 2

>> The authority of scripture part 1

>> The authority of scripture part 2

>> The centrality of preaching

>> Influential preachers

>> Developing preaching part 1

>> Developing preaching part 2

‘A church where regular teaching and preaching of the Bible holds a primary a role where Scripture’s authority is final.’

Simon Virgo, “I am sure any preachers watching would be fascinated to know how long does it roughly take you to prepare a sermon and is there a kind of pattern to your preparation?”

Terry Virgo, “I think that the time it takes to prepare can so vary with the theme and sometimes you can be living with the theme weeks before you preach it. I can feel something that is stirring in my heart at the moment a sermon I think I am going to preach probably must be over a month off before I preach it but I just feel something stirring in me. I am jotting stuff down on a piece of paper already because it is coming to me. Other times in the week run up to the preach I haven’t got a clue what I am going to do and I am looking at a blank sheet and thinking, “oh God is there anything interesting at all in the Bible?” You know it is a real challenge week in and week out especially if you are preaching to the same congregations Sunday after Sunday and if you are not doing a series one of the things I appreciate in doing a series is that right I have finished this here are the next few verses. I have got to work at these verses.”

Simon Virgo, “So you have got to work through it,”

Terry Virgo, “Yeah and so you are shut in.”

Simon Virgo, “I remember you preaching a great sermon on John the Baptists head being brought in on a plate and thinking you wouldn’t want to preach from that passage but you preached a great sermon from it.”

Terry Virgo, “Well I think when you are locked into a passage you think, “now I am going to work at this and I remember first working through Hebrews 11 and I love those character studies going through Hebrews 11. Then it came to Joseph and it said, “Joseph when he was dying gave instruction about his bones” and I thought, “oh no how do I preach on this?” And I remember battling with that and thinking, “well should I abandon the series? Shall I jump on from Joseph? Shall I preach something else about Joseph?” And you know the week for a preacher the week kicks in early for me like Tuesday, “let’s start looking and you know then Sunday is getting nearer and nearer will I ever get anything out of this?” and it is a bit of an adventure to be honest for the preacher every week to find, will I find something fresh and I felt God gave me something about Joseph’s bones. So it is important to work at it, it is important although I would find for myself the pattern can change.”

Simon Virgo, “Prayer important.”

Terry Virgo, “Oh yeah prayer is hugely important absolutely yeah.”

Simon Virgo, “What do you do when you feel you have completely preached an absolute blunder?”

Terry Virgo, “You ask for mercy you go to your wife and say please pray for me and yeah I have had a few of those even on Stoneleigh platforms when you think, “Lord Jesus I don’t really want to die in front of 20,000 people,” but I have done it.”

[End of video]

Leave a Reply

